Friday, 29 July 2011

V

Velocity Girl
Hmmm, I was playing the iPod shuffle thing a few months ago, and this came up when I asked what two boys thought of me, one who I liked and one who I had been told fancied me. It was a bit :O when I got the same song for both of them, but seriously, this song really does not describe me. Well maybe it does to them, but not the bit about drugs, I don't know. It seems unlikely though. On the other hand, a random old man cycled past me and my friends when we were innocently sitting beside a river, and shouted 'Is that all you do, fucking drink?' to which I was tempted to reply 'Is that all you do, fucking stereotype?'. Because it would be one thing if we were drinking something other than kwenchy kups, but seriously... where would he rather we were? Stupid fool. Bye bye.

Thursday, 28 July 2011

U

Umbrella
When I went to Spain they played this song all the time... except one little cafe where they played the Beatles, which I thought was pretty epic. But yeah, why do they all listen to American music in Europe? I know the Beatles aren't American, but all the other stuff was. If you could sing to someone in Spanish, why would you even bother with the English language? That's what Eurovision was like too.
Anyway, I quite like this song. Obviuosly, otherwise I wouldn't have bothered putting it on my blog would I? Duh. What to say? Anyway, I have things to see, people to do... TTFN

Wednesday, 27 July 2011

T

The Lightning Strike
This song is 16 minutes long... that's pretty cool. And one of the instrumental bits reminds me of one of the pieces I have to study in music...
Oh god, I'm confused about life again. And I really need the loo. I'll see you later. I don't really know what to talk about to be honest. I'm enjoying the holidays though.

Monday, 25 July 2011

S

Now it happens that pretty much every song in the world begins with S... so can I give a selection of songs? If you don't want to listen to them, then tough luck. Well you don't have to, because I won't know, just lie about it. Make me feel better, LIKES AND COMMENT PLZ! <3 xx as some of my chavvier acquaintances would say. Oh my days that annoys me. Anyway, what was I saying?
Safer to Hate Her
It is safer to hate people than love them, but in the end less satisfying. But once you know enough about someone to love them, you generally have enough evidence to hate them... life's weird like that.
I got crap off people for liking you me at six without being a proper fan, only listening to them after they became famous, not knowing their earlier songs blah blah blah and I was like 'what, are you not glad that your band is more popular?' but then loads of the girls in my class started listening to snow patrol and rise against and I got really annoyed, because it made me look like I was just following the crowd :S
Spitting Games
Snow Patrol is always good, song describes some pretty accurate feelings.
Sparks Fly
I see sparks fly whenever you smile :)
Ta ta for now, I'm going out

Sunday, 24 July 2011

Q/R

I can't think of a song beginning with Q... so I'll move right on to a particularly topical 'R'
Rehab
So, I guess you guys heard, Amy Winehouse died. And I really do not know what to think. Everyone is saying what a shame it is, such good music, so talented, not her fault she got into drugs, she was so young, but I have to say... really? Because I am being totally honest, but 'rehab' is the only song I have ever heard of by her, and I had never actually heard it until I looked it up today. And you know it isn't bad, but it's not really my style, doesn't sound too different to any number of pop songs, her voice isn't shockingly amazing... And I know, her abusive boyfriend (I presume, I haven't looked up this Blake guy) got her into drugs, but hell, she's singing a song about how she's refusing to accept help! The only song anyone has ever heard by her is about the fact she realises she is messed up, but she isn't gonna move her lazy arse to try and help herself, and won't even let anyone else help her! Now, if my boyfriend offered me drugs, I would most likely say no, but even if I said yes I wouldn't dare blame it on him, because at the end of the day I could have walked away. Someone offered me a draw on a cigarette, and I said yes, took one then handed it back, and that certainly is no one's fault but my own. But maybe I, aged 15, am more mature and strong than Amy Winehouse, aged however old she was when she started taking drugs? Taking drugs is stupid, but it's everyone's choice, I know people who have and they're still able to function normally, and they would never blame it on anyone else. They still have self respect. And she was so young? Not really. She's nearly twice my age, and I know people who have at least threatened to kill themselves. And what about those 86 kids in Norway who were shot through no fault of their own? What about the12 year old suicide bombers who were groomed by the Taliban? They were so young, but to me it's hard to look at someone twice my age and think 'they were so young'. But I have just seen a 157 comment argument on facebook, between a variety of my friends where one boy ended up saying he hoped someone died so he could throw a street party, or something along those lines, which is ridiculous. And this argument was about how much we respect Amy Winehouse's death. So I would like to put out my actual point of view:
1. ANYONE'S death is a sad occasion, and I don't believe anyone on this planet 'deserves' to die. Celebrating a death is wrong on too many levels
2. Amy Winehouse had a bad life, and was quite possibly misunderstood and badly treated by those close to her, and I'm sure in a different situation could have turned out to be a different person.
3. In the end, she made a choice to die. Those close to her should of course mourn, but for me, I would much rather cry about the death's of children starving in third world droughts. And this blog post is probably more than the amount of thought I will put into her ever again.
4. Everyone deserves an R.I.P.

Saturday, 23 July 2011

P

Piano Man
My dad copied this song onto my computer from vinyl (I know, I still have records in my house) and I think it is pretty awesome, and unfortunately I am pretty sure that it in some way includes a prophecy for the rest of my life: either I end up playing in a piano bar, or get pissed on my own. It has some amazing literary techniques in though. Oh, the 90s had some pretty splendid music though. And less terrorism. Did you see Norway on the news? It was awful, and very unexpected. Who could even imagine a terrorist attack on NORWAY?!?! (I'll be honest I didn't hear enough of it to know if it was supposed to be terrorist, but that is certainly what it looked like. It looked a lot like the devastation after the tsunami in japan, but I suspect as only a small part of the country was hit, it isn't actually too bad.
Anyway, drifting back to whatever point I intended to make, someone asked me what they would call our time period when they looked back at history, would we be the Elizabethans, the Windsors or what? But I think we will probably be the 20th and 21st century, because history is too global and anti-monarchist at the moment for that. I suppose we might end up being 'Ombamians' though. Which would be pretty damn cool. It seems to me that no one in America even likes Obama anymore, but the British are still pretty obsessed by him. My English teacher has his victory speech on her iPod. But she is rather strange in the first place. Anyway, dragging this monologue gracefully round to the point, when people look back at our lives they're going to remember the Middle East, global warming, 9/11, the internet and Lady Gaga. No one is going to give a crap about art council funds, or Charlie and the Chocolate Factory, or chlamydia, or blu-ray. I'm pretty sure. So if you are reading this several hundred years in the future, art councils are basically giving people money to stick toilets to walls (it's installation art, apparently, shows what crap the basis of our lives are built on),Charlie and the Chocolate factory was a book written by a children's author called 'Roald Dahl' who wrote various other popular and funny kids books, it has been made into two films, one starring Gerard Butler, and various other people, and a remake which I think is called 'Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory' (apparently 'Charlie' is offensive because it is American street slang for a black man. I lose faith in humanity and sanity) which stars Johnny Depp (phwoar) and various other people (Freddie Highmore, Helena Bonham-Carter, Christopher Lee, can't remember who else). Anyway, it teaches chilren to follow their dreams, and not be greedy. It also has lots of little orange people, with green hair. They were the much cooler pre-runners to chavs (Chavs are basically the same, but they have dropped the merry improvised singing, which in unfortunate). Chlamydia is a sexually transmitted infection which is pretty much symptomless in early stages, but it can cause infertility in women. Apparently 1 in 10 people between the ages of 13 and 25 have it, but in my area of the country that goe sup to 1 in 4. That means statistically speaking, 7 people in my class have it. I have spent a few hilarious minutes trying to guess which ones. Blu-ray is a new type of DVD that is slightly better quality and several times more expensive. I really don't think it's going to catch on, which is a shame, as the name is more catchy, even if it is less relevant than 'DVD' (if history goes really badly you may not know, so 'DVD' stands for "digital video disk". Please don't make me explain what video means.). So that was a fairly reminiscent blog post, submitted by telepathy (now I'm just fucking with the people from the future). Toodles.

Thursday, 21 July 2011

O

On the rooftop...
Technically it's called 'Ready to Fall', but not many songs begin with O.
Well, today I had to hand in two lots of coursework... oh sorry, one lot of coursework and one FAKE piece of coursework that actually has no relevance to my life, and will not get me anywhere in life. I will talk more of this anon. The other piece of coursework was a joint piece for chemistry/biology that I had to edit, but unfortunately I had to retype it ALL because the school's stupid website and email system weren't working. Anyway, at 20 past 11 my dad was slightly annoyed (did I say slightly? That was foolish of me) which baffled me somewhat... would he really rather I just hadn't done it? So after completing that, for some reason I couldn't be bothered to finish this ridiculous investigation, for a subject which, if I'm honest, I could leave off my CV with no one the wiser. The reasons I hadn't done this homework earlier are numerous:
1. I had five other pieces of REAL coursework to hand in this week
2. My teacher has not actually taught us anything this year, she has been too busy trying to chat up the boys in our class
3. The lesson before we had to hand in the coursework she told me that all my data was wrong.
4. It is the last week of term, and I really can't be bothered.
But luckily I didn't have to yell at my teacher how ridiculous her pathetic subject is, and I escaped. Phew. But my friends didn't get as lucky as me, so I am going to be alone tomorrow lunchtime.

Monday, 18 July 2011

N

Never Grow Up
No one wants to grow up. As part of our current 'making the children more responsible' campaign I now get chores (oh joy... I never had to do any work before, just hours of music practice and room tidying), and today I had to do some vacuuming. Me and the vacuum have a long standing feud, I can't believe no one has invented a silent vacuum cleaner yet... Anyway, I well and truly showed it who was boss today.
You may have noticed that I say vacuuming instead of hoovering... It's my grandad's fault. I also find it hard to say 'You have two choices' (you have two OPTIONS but only one choice). I'm not that bad though, compared to him, I once heard him say 'Methyl-2-cyanoacrylate' instead of superglue (it wasn't actual branded superglue). But it is my mission to slip that word into conversation. I already memorise the spelling of chemical compounds so I can ruin people's jokes:
Foolish innocent bystander: 'What does DNA stand for?'
Ruth: 'Deoxyribonucleic acid, but I think the punchline you're looking for is national Dyslexic Association.'
You can tell how loved I am by my peers...

Saturday, 16 July 2011

M

Mad World
This song is right in the middle of one of my christmas hits CDs. Obviously one year a lot of people were quite depressed around christmas time...
Does anyone else do that thing where you listen to loads of Christmas just for one day in September? I like to on the first day back at school. It cheers me up. GOING TO SEE HARRY POTTER AGAIN TODAY!
Last night I waited for about half an hour for some randomers to move so I could take a picture with the Snape poster. He is the most amazing character in the story. I don't think I have any more to say. Good day to all. Pip pip.

Friday, 15 July 2011

L

My blogger dashboard thing says I have published 69 posts... however the side bar says only 63. I may have another post on this topic in 6 days...
On the subject of random blog posts, today in French we got given our assessment topic, which is to write a blog post about you career plans, including information about your pocket money, any part time jobs you have (...made up), work experience and future plans, and I was forced to wonder: who has ever written a blog post about what housework they have to do in order to earn how much pocket money from whom, and what they in fact spend aforementioned pocket money on... Then I realised that that is quite a plausible blog post, if -of course- the teenager in question was allowed to have a massive angsty rant about how unfair life/parents/the current socio-economic system are (I admit, they might not give those names to it... who ever says the word 'parents'?). I am sure you are fascinated. No really, I don't mind going on. Another problem that came to me while I was watching the latest Harry Potter film (oh yes) was where do wizards get their hair cut? I mean, while you're at Hogwarts, you can't exactly wander out to a salon, who cuts your hair? And on a slightly similar subject, where do wizards go to prison? I know they have Askaban, but that's all high security and shizz, what if they just need to spend a night in the cells, or whatever it is police do as a halfway punishment. I solved that on myself by suggesting that there are probably no-apparition zones on all muggle prisons, secretly maintained by the ministry of magic. And why did Alan Rickman have to die? No need to say, I was in tears multiple times throughout the film.
URGH my night got partially ruined because I saw someone I knew who always depresses me when I see her... some people just have to have it all.
Love Story
N'awwwww. I know it's a bit of a cop out at the end, but it's still lovely. First T Swift song I ever listened to. Romeo save me, they're trying to tell me how to feel.
Yeah, I think it was a bit easier back in the olden days (before the war) when the whole 'courting' thing was so defined and simple. You had rules and guidelines about how to act, and knew for definite who you actually had a chance with. Now we have just as many presumptions and expectations, but they differ from person to person, so you don't really know how to act around boys, and we have just as strong 'classes' of who you can fancy, it's just they are less well defined (to you) so everybody else can tell you have no chance with someone, but it is harder for you to know. So maybe it was easier for Juliet and Paris, and it was an actual conscious choice to fall for the wrong person, not a mistake she didn't know she had made until too late, like so may people do today. She could have been happy with Paris. He gets the worst deal in the whole story: the girl he proposes to would rather commit suicide than marry him? Smooth, real smooth Juliet. You bitch. If you look past the ending of any tragically beautiful story you just get lines of people who have been fucked up. Whatever uplifting story comes before the tragic but poetic end, nobody really cares about the people crying because they lost somebody they loved. I had an idea for a book, about a girl who gets diagnosed with a terminal illness, and decides to actually live life to the full for the last year. She does all the daredevil things she didn't dare to before, she asks a boy out, she takes motorbike lessons, and then her mom gets a call from her doctor, telling her that some test results come back; she is about to go into a rapid, painful decline and will probably die within a week. Her mum then calls her to get her to come home, so the family can spend the last few days together. She gets the call while on her bike, crashes and dies instantly and painlessly. Her family have been prepared to grieve for her, but don't have to witness her last few wasting days. Strangely uplifting end of part one.
Part two, her motorbike teacher kills himself with the guilt that he didn't teach her to ride properly (she didn't tell anyone except family about her illness), her boyfriend thinks that she deliberately killed herself because of something he did and and refuses to remain part of society in case he hurts anyone else, her mom becomes ridiculously over protective of her younger brother, who in turn rebels and becomes manic-depressive, and eventually slits his wrists and is discovered by the boyfriend, who is unable to help because he has become so unused to human conversation and contact. Everyone dies alone and unhappy because one girl forgets that it isn't only the hero who has feelings. Nobody's fault. But after the beautiful ending life has to go on.
I probably won't write it though, so feel free to steal my idea, you'll probably write it much better than I can. Night night

Thursday, 14 July 2011

K

Kings and Queens
Not many songs begin with K either. What to talk about? Cats? Gods? Fire? USB sticks? The possibilities are endless.
PSE has ruined my innocence. My friend can't eat ice cream anymore, she feels defiled. What to talk about...
Just stay mute, you social freak. WIN FOR PEEP SHOW QUOTES. That basically sums up my current social life. I enjoy David Mitchell's company :)

Wednesday, 13 July 2011

J

Hard letter... You took that badly didn't you? You are SOOOO dirty minded. Anyway, here is a hilarious song, that KIND OF begins with J.
Joseph and his Amazing Technicolour Dreamcoat; BENJAMIN CALYPSO!
It is scientifically impossible to watch that and not laugh. I had an alright day today :) Due to a hilarious mis-communication issue I am going to see Harry Potter TWICE! You may bow. I am so cool :) TTFN

Tuesday, 12 July 2011

Panic over citizens, back to your miserable lives

I'll be honest, in that last post I sounded a little bit like I was on the verge of suicide; I'm not. I also sounded really bitter, as if I had cared for other people my whole life and they had totally disregarded me; I didn't, and they haven't. And I seemed to be making out that my life is made out of blocks of poo piled on top of each other in a vaguely humanoid shape; again untrue. My inner drama queen wanted some attention from me and I got so distracted by wrestling her back down that I accidentally let her hit 'Publish Post'. Foolish I know, I will take better care in future.
I am one of the most selfish people ever, and I refuse to accept the good parts of my life and just go on and on and on and on and on and on and on and on and on and on and on about the slightest bad thing that happens, then wander around pulling sad faces and trying to make everyone feel sorry for me for the next few weeks, then refuse to talk to anybody about it. And if the people I'm close to don't appreciate me, they do a bloody good job of hiding that they don't. And I haven't given everything to someone else who doesn't care about me, that was almost entirely melodrama. And you shouldn't start a sentence with 'and'. Whatever. Does this face look bothered? Oh you can't see it. Take my word for it, it doesn't. Basically I have a blog so the few people who I have told about it can read and understand and I can kid myself that everybody else in the world also cares, while in fact most people are just relieved I'm not making a fool of myself on facebook. Bored yet? I am. Not of you, of my own inane wittering. Ciao for now, Mr Cow. Bloody hell, I really have gone balmy.

I

So many songs start with 'I'. I, I, I, that's all anyone cares about, me included. And the people who care too much about other people are either stalkers, or they just get so sick of altruism and actually giving a fuck about everyone else that they just wear out and die. So yeah, when I care about somebody else, they don't care about me at all, and I have to do loads of stuff to convince everyone that I don't care about them anyway, and end up terrified that I'm going to upset someone else, and then just want to curl up in a corner somewhere, and no one try to talk to me until I've worked out what I actually think, but hey that's not gonna happen, life is life, love isn't love, who knows where the time goes? Time on my hands could be time spent with you. But it isn't, cos I'm too lazy. This is kind of meandering from one slightly depressed point to another, I feel a bit like Emilie. But that's fine cos Emilie is cool. I'll have to love you and leave you I'm afraid. Toodle Pip.
I Guess That's Why They Call It The Blues
Elton John is Beast

Monday, 11 July 2011

H

Hands Open
Merrr I feel sick. Can't write. Sow Patrol makes everything better. As does Peep Show.

Sunday, 10 July 2011

G

Didn't write anything yesterday... I thought I was gonna have a whole afternoon of being a lonely bored hermit in which to ponder the nature of the universe for you, but I got kidnapped by some friends and forced to go out and enjoy myself. The bitches.

Gone Forever
Good song. I'm not that angry at the moment though...

Friday, 8 July 2011

F

Fearless
I haven't had any T Swift on here for a while... This is a really nice song. Haha my mom just said tart. She was talking about cherries. Wow, that still sounds pretty bad. Shut up now Ruth. I wish I could write funnier stuff, I just don't seem to have much to write about...

Thursday, 7 July 2011

E

Every Breath You Take
When Sting says it he doesn't sound like a stalker...
Happy mood didn't last too long, now I'm just really confused and my lip's bleeding because I've been chewing on it all day. But I should be happy. And I will be happy. In fact just saying you're happy and trying to smile makes you feel better :) So go forth and be happy my children :)

Wednesday, 6 July 2011

D

Diamonds on the Soles of her Shoes
Wow Paul Simon is so cool :)
I had a really good day today. I'm happy. I think I will leave you know to skip merrily amock somewhere else. That isn't in front of I computer. I jest of course, I'm just going to go on Facebook. But you don't know that. So shhhhhhhhhh ;)

Tuesday, 5 July 2011

C

Epic win for Radiohead. This song describes my life.
Creep
Today was such an awful day, one of those days where nothing bad happens, but absolutely nothing happens all day that gives you any feeling that life is worth living. A day you could cut out of your life and you wouldn't notice, you would just feel like a weight had come off your shoulders. It's quite sad that the nicest thing that happens all day is a bus driver lets you off without waiting for a stop because he can see you missed yours. Nice bus driver :) So thank you mystery man, you kept me going through today. May the force be with you. Over and out.

Monday, 4 July 2011

B

I haven't really posted many Rise Against songs, even though they are on of my favourite bands EVER! Ah well, here's one for you
Behind Closed Doors
Quite cool :D

Sunday, 3 July 2011

A

Musical alphabet time... The letter A.
Absolute Gravity
Tis a good song. The first Snow Patrol album was pretty epics. Everyone knows 'Chasing Cars' and a couple of other songs from Eyes Open, but not many of the earlier songs. Maybe I should quit obsessing over Snow Patrol? NEVER!
My parents just went to a sixties themed fancy dress party. It was hilarious to see. My brother went out into Durham, then he brought a friend home. I have no social life to speak of, I just sit on facebook. What a successful child I am

Saturday, 2 July 2011

Violet

A song that makes me feel violet...
Enchanted
This is such a true song... I really do know the feeling.
I'm sorry, I haven't graced your screens with examples of my hilarious wit and humour for a while, I have been busy wallowing, much like a hippo, in the mud of my own self obsession. Luckily for you luckily lucky people, I have discovered a new party trick: taking song titles and making them sound ridiculously posh and sophisticated. A few of my personal favourites...
'Increase the pressure on the fruit conserve'
'It appears to be precipitating male specimens of the species homo sapiens'
'I only passed by in order to greet you in a causual manner'
'Her manner of producing kinetic energy is entirely unique'
Etc. It amuses me, and it's one way to spend a physics lesson... 

Friday, 1 July 2011

Indigo

Hurricane
I don't really need to explain why this is indigo, do I?
Guess what day it is? FRIDAY! But something sad has happened... I think I'm getting immune to Friday Magic :S things that would have made me so happy are less good, because I'M STARTING TO EXPECT THEM! How annoying. It would still make me happy on any other day, but I'm disappointed by Fridays. I'm such a fool.