Thursday, 30 June 2011

Blue

Blue is a gorgeous colour :D in the words of the blue cat, 'I'm blue, I'm beautiful, I'M BEST!' and it is a calm, chilled out colour, but maybe a bit sad which I happen to like. This song isn't really chilled out, it's kind of a darker blue than the blue I was describing before...
Boulevard of Broken Dreams

Wednesday, 29 June 2011

Green

Hmmmm, green is a fairly happy, calm colour, but has slight undertones of unease and things hidden under the surface. My goodness you are a freak Ruth. Just tell them the song and we can all be happy
Set Down Your Glass
Today was a funny day, and actually quietly happy. I mean, not on a level with full blown Friday magic, but it was pretty amazing for a Tuesday. All my friends seemed to be on top form, and I (for once) DIDN'T SEEM TO MESS ANYTHING UP!!! :O Which is pretty amazing. I don't think I annoyed anyone, I did brave things like starting conversations with people I don't often talk to, and I did quite a lot of work. Phew, I will now slack off for the rest of term.

Tuesday, 28 June 2011

YELLOW

I like yellow, it is a genuine colour, it's happy and shiny, and spreads its happiness to other people, trying to make people's day better. Or whatever :P
Shine on
I might have already posted this song. Ah well, who gives a shit. Maybe I haven't actually. Who knows? I'm in a weird mood, I hate everything, but feel happy. What a strange child I am.

Monday, 27 June 2011

ORANGE

Today was a truly orange day. It was much too hot, too bright and I just felt ill all the way through, but unfortunately I played the "I really am ill, but not in any defined way, just a 'I need to go to bed right NOW' way, that involves an on/off headahce, a funny throat and an awkward stomache and bad back and I just feel so fucking TIRED" card on thursday, so I struggled on all day. I was worse on thursday, so I don't regret the decision, but...
You may have guessed, but I don't like the colour orange. It is full of faked happiness dancing around too brightly and too garishly :/ Um, I thought of a song to represent that before, but I've forgotten it... Oh yeah, my favourite ever scapegoat, Katy Perry.
California Girls
Sorry. I don't mind her in general, but she's too bloody happy

Sunday, 26 June 2011

Red

A song that makes me think of red. Wow, you lucky guys are going to find out about how close I am to synesthesia.
Paper Wings
It doesn't make me angry, it makes me think of red. I have absolutely no idea what it's about. I like it though :). Obviously you like it, you wouldn't listen to it otherwise, would you, you cretin. Shush now, No one asked you. Sorry, the voices in my head just got a bit out of control...

Saturday, 25 June 2011

Roy G. Biv

You know when I said I had a wunnerful idea for y'all? I think this song will explain the theme, and I will once again give you a song each day, on the given theme. You know the protocol. AWAIT MY ANNOUNCEMENTS WITH ANTICIPATION AND JOY!
Roy G. Biv
Do you know how freaking cool this is?

Friday, 24 June 2011

DAY 30

The last day of amazing journey through time and space :'( *wipes tear from eye* BUT FEAR NOT my young minions, I have an epic plan for the next stage of our musical journey. But first we must listen to 'Your favourite song last year'. Well, my favourite song last year. Because, let's face it, my opinions are more important than yours: I know the login details of this blog, and you don't. I hope. Well this was my favourite song last year: Numb (I have noticed that none of my friends seem to know how to post links on their blogs. But I think I'll just sit smugly on that knowledge like a blackbird that's stolen a power ranger doll). I heard two of my friends playing this song at the school concert, on piano and violin, and I think it describes them very well. Because I've noticed that people who are very nice when you talk to them separately can become someone you just don't understand when they get into groups. It's not that they're two faced, or bitchy or anything, they just end up pressuring each other into doing really ridiculous stuff. Anyway, this song is still a really good song, so I think I might go listen to again. Toodle pip.

FRIDAY MAGIC!!!!!!! :D :D :D

I have been wittering on about Friday magic, or lack of it, for about a month, and I'm sure most of you believe that it is a myth, fairly-tale, legend, or other such construction created/invented by me as an excuse to be inexplicably depressed and anti-social. But, ladies and gentlemen, Friday magic is as real as the unicorn I'm sitting on. It crackles electrically through the air. All those wishes to Freya the Friday fairy have finally paid off (a misspent childhood... best not to ask) and I had an amazing Friday. Let's just say that there is someone in my Fridays who has the potential to make me faint with happiness at even seeing him, but he quite often doesn't realise and I get annoyed. But this week he was really nice to me. Bring on the happy Ruth (and the cider) :D

Thursday, 23 June 2011

Lukorama

Imagine the scene: my 6 year old brother is sitting on my bed watching lion king 2, and suddenly starts quizzing me; he holds up a random bottle of nail varnish and asks if I'm going to a party (no) then a bottle of alboss oil and asks if I have a blocked nose (no), then if I like chickies (yes) and now he has got stuck on 'Can I have this lollipop?' (no, the same as the last five times). I'm saving it. I have a bag of sherbet to eat with it :D And that was probably the most pointless post I have ever written. Hey, I'm ill, cut me a bit of slack. Aussi, my other brother just updated his facebook saying he has marshmallows. I really want that to be true...

DAY 29

 A song from your childhood: My childhood had quite a lot of songs in, to be honest, but I just remembered this one, and it's prettay darn awesome, in my opinion.
Adventurers slash explorers
Nearly finished the song challenge now :( I've lost all purpose in life.
Oh dear I really am ill. My head hurts. My throat hurts. My nose hurts. On the plus side, I am now watching little mermaid 2, which I have just discovered is HILARIOUS! Watch it now.

Wednesday, 22 June 2011

DAY 28

A song that makes you feel guilty. This song makes me feel guilty because it reminds me how amazing my family are, and I do give them quite a lot of crap. I would have kicked me out by now. Ah well, Taylor Swift knows all...
The Best Day
*wipes tear from eye*
Now that's over, I have a rant, and I am going to rant it at you whether you like it or not, because if you go against my rant I will cut you down. You may not know but I will dedicate the rest of my life to you downfall.
How dare people think that they have the right to judge and insult people after just driving past them in the street? What could they possibly think makes it okay for them to say something that can cut someone up inside so much that years later they will say something that makes you realise that whenever they remember, their chest tightens up to try to cover up the scar that's left there? For once this isn't a rant about my own pathetic little life, for once I am standing up for someone else's honour (okay calm down Ruth, you're not a knight you know...). And they don't know that I'm standing up for them; they don't know I know they need standing up for. And they'd probably be slightly embarrassed and bemused if they knew. Hell, they probably don't even need someone to stand up for them (they have perfectly good legs of their own after all. And I'm pretty sure they could write a better speech about this than me). But it doesn't matter. I saw someone say something, found out something about them and it upset me that they had to hurt for no reason except to make some freak feel better for a minute. All I can say is that there is NO WAY you can know who deserves upsetting from one glance in the street. Sure he might be a tosser but did you KNOW that? So shut the fuck up. I'll be honest with you, this particular case has nothing to do with me, I wasn't there at the time of the insults, I wasn't told about it, it wasn't even supposed to hear the thing that told me they'd remembered. I just overheard. Urgh. Rant over. And remember: I'm watching you. Now shoo.

Squash

At the weekend, I was away with family, including 5 kids under the age of 7, and when it came to tea time we had the wonders of pre-made squash.Designed for three year olds. I hate to tell you this people, but it was one of the most awful drinks I have ever tasted. It tasted like vile bile. And a few times I just poured myself some and topped it up with the squash, but then my cousin tried it and got told of by my auntie, and I felt awful for leading this poor, innocent child astray. So I went over to the adult's table and drank wine instead.
Also, I have a problem with orange squash, in that I go stupidly 'have to stand up and run around or I will explode' hyper for half an hour, then crash spectacularly and sit on the edge of tears with a massive headache. Although there are few brands of posher squash that just make me really giggly all afternoon then tired the next day.
And as for the game, I detest exercise in all forms, so it never really had a chance.

Tuesday, 21 June 2011

DAY 27

A song you wish you could play
Rachmaninoff Piano Concerto 2
I can dream can't I? Although lets be honest I don't have the self control to practice that much. You have no idea how much I would love to be so dedicated, but my mind just flits from one thing to another so fast I can hardly ever sit down to practise :S And I'm letting everyone down, I know I know. Oh but aren't you sick of my wittering yet? Of course you are, but due to the fact that you're reading this on the internet YOU CAN'T STOP ME! MWAHAHAHAHAHAHA! I have an obsession with starting new projects; at the moment I really want to learn karate or similar.
1. Because I absolutely OWN at boxing and karate on the wii.
2. Because I need to learn a way to get out of headlocks that doesn't involve clawing at my brother's neck.
3.Because I am an aggressive person
4. Because I would look pretty epic in the white outfit
5. Because there have been a couple of times in the past that I really regret not being able to punch the shit out of someone's face.
I think that just about covers it. Unfortunately I doubt I will get lessons because I doubt my parents (or I) have the time/inclination to drive me to a sports centre every week, and as I have already mentioned I never do any practice for all the things I already do.
I know I sound like a nerd for liking this piece, BUT WHO WOULDN'T WANT TO BE ABLE TO PLAY THIS?!

DAY 26

A song that you can play on an instument...
Mahogany
I learned guitar entirely to play this song. It's one of the two songs I can actually play and sing at the same time :P Well I say play... and I say sing... but anyway. It seems like somebody is singing while the person they love is asleep, and they're saying all the same sweet things they say while they're awake. It's a very honest song. I like honesty; not many people have the guts to tell you how they feel, me included. I often amuse myself by imagining fabulously slushy situations about how to tell someone you like them :P None of them happen. Once you've imagined something there's no chance it will happen in real life. Fact of life. Wow nobody cares. Bysie byes.

Monday, 20 June 2011

DAY 25

A song that makes you laugh
Jerk it out
It's a cool, cool song. This song is on the best wii game in the world, 'Just Dance', and the dancer for this song is so cool it's unbelievable.

Sunday, 19 June 2011

DAY 24

A song you want to play at your family... Um yeah
I want 'How lovely is the dwelling place' and 'The trumpets sound, the angels sing'. But I'm a bit of a freak, in that I've planned hymns for my funeral. I don't like thinking about death :/ It's weirder to think of other people dying though. Not a nice thought. Bye bye.

Saturday, 18 June 2011

DAY 23

A song you want to play at your wedding...
Um, at the minute I don't think I'll ever get married, as everyone of the opposite sex seems to hate me... Not that I'd ever be unawkward enough to actually talk to a boy I liked even if he was prepared to talk to me. I use too many made up words (and sentence structures) such as 'unawesome'. Yes my friends, yet another one of those fridays where the friday magic failed to happen. Although this week I can't blame anyone for it. Actually I might blame sports day, because sports day can't fight back. I'll begin with athletics in general: near the end of the summer term, in PE the sun beams gloriously down from the sky, children skip merrily through the fields, Ruth wonders if she might actually wear shorts rather than 'Trackie Bees lyk hew' for PE this week- although the answer is invariably no, the thought DOES happen- and a general feeling of contentment falls over the school. At 20 past 11, students frisk and gambol down to the sports hall, where they then happily ask their teacher that most joyful of questions: 'Miss, please can we play rounders'. Just to clarify, rounders is one of my favourite sports, as the rules were drilled so thoroughly into my head at primary school that even as an overweight, unpopular and generally annoying year 7 there was one sport I could participate properly in, because I knew all about the rules of misfielding, the 'runassoonastheballleavesthebowlershands,runNOW!' rule and various other things about no-balls, backwards hits and running out. Anyway, flowing back to the plot as smoothly as tributary runs into a river (see, I did listen in Geography!), we had just asked permission to engage in the noble sport of rounders. And now miss is about to break our young innocent hearts. She says 'No, we're doing athletics'. Darkness creeps back into the forests of the world, rumour grows of a shadow in the east, whispers of a nameless fear. Um, but if it did have a name, it would be 'the 1500 metres'. Some of the weak in the class actually collapse at this point, their deaths will be on the heads of the PE department. Those of us left fight on in their memories, but to no avail. Our teacher is no more than a sergeant of the enemies army: she has no option but to carry out her orders. So we march out, steeled to our doom. Now, I have to explain the problem with athletics: there are so many bloody events that we don't actually get taught anything about them, we just run through them, one a lesson, until the end of term. So no one who doesn't practise in their spare time doesn't get better. And this problem comes to a head with the running races. Only about 7 people can race at a time, so the participants are basically performing to the whole of their year group. And what happens is this: those people who are good at running have been part of a running club, and have been practising for this moment the whole year. They excel, sprinting off into the distance and within seconds are around the bend, and on the other side of the track, so their loving fans and spectators can hardly see them, never mind appreciate how fabulous they are at running. What their loving fans are watching are all the plebs who are jogging, panting, hyperventilating and occasionally passing out behind them. Watching someone blubbering along like a beached whale is just more FUN than watching someone show off at something they are good at. And honestly, who can run for 1500m? It isn't normal. I was once beaten by 6 minutes at the 1500m by friend, who has ASTHMA! So unsurprisingly, I don't go to sports day. But as has been pointed out to me before 'the only good thing about standing around in your PE kit doing nothing all day is that all the fittest lads are doing exactly the same thing'. But I've decided it's really not worth it. Or, in fact, anything to do with my wedding...
It occurs to me that I haven't actually told you what I did today while boycotting sports day. I instead had to be part of 'curriculum day'; a day where nothing that will actually help you in life can be taught, because if it was it would be unfair on those doing sports. In the morning I did a puppet show about the effects of drugs, in the afternoon I designed a box to keep sherbert in. Once you realise that most people had gone to sports day, and everyone else had skived, you realise that everyone in school was basically crap at excercise, but not brave enough for truancy. So not many people appreciated me and my best friends own unique brand of humour to do with cannabis, or our amazing skill with accents. It was wasted on them. I think I will skive next curriculum day/house day/sports day.

Friday, 17 June 2011

DAY 22

A song you listen to when you're sad:
Nothing else matters
When you're upset about something, it can take up your whole world, until nothing is more important to you than that one problem you have

Thursday, 16 June 2011

DAY 21

A song that you listen to when you're happy :D I love the kooks.
Shine On
I like loads of Brit-pop type stuff. Like Blur, and Franz Ferdinand, and THE BEATLES! All the happy retro stuff makes me feel so summer. I think it's really interesting how different songs make you think of different seasons, and different colours.
I know I should listen to happy songs when I'm depressed, but it doesn't work, I just get annoyed that other people are happy and I'm not :/ Oh well.
I wish I could write something genuinely amusing, but unfortunately although I am pretty much a comedy GOD in real life, most of it involves me involuntarily falling over/asking for a bus ticket to the wrong place/throwing cookies into people eyes (that was all in the last two days) and that doesn't really transmit well onto the internet. If you want to see someone really funny, read my brothers blog (A small insight into my life) because he seems to have got the lion's share of brains. And here I am, back into slipping Lion King quotes into conversation like a diabetic slips on apple peelings. You really shouldn't let me do that. Someone has to be responsible for my mental health, and it sure as hell isn't gonna be me. Anyone who reads A-level psychology textbooks in their free time before school should on no account be let near anyone crazy. On that fabulous subject I must love you and leave you,  I have other deserving minions to annoy...

Wednesday, 15 June 2011

DAY 20

A song that you listen to when you're angry:
Anything by Three Days Grace, or Rise Against, or 30 Seconds to Mars really... But this has been my ANGRY song for a while.
Blood to Bleed

Tuesday, 14 June 2011

DAY 19

A song from your favourite album. I really don't have a favourite album, because my mood swings around so much I can't just concentrate on one emotion. But at this moment in time I think my favourite album is 'A Hundred Million Suns' by Snow Patrol. And I really like this song, so here you have it...
Disaster Button
I don't really know what it means, except that things can change and not turn out how you expected, and people can be confusing, and different, and change who you are. I like songs which are fairly ambiguous, that you can apply to yourself: I don't really like songs that are so much about the singer that they have nothing to do with you and your situation.

Monday, 13 June 2011

Yoghurt

I just ate a pear yogurt, and it was very nice; I don't often eat real pears because whenever we have them in the house my brother eats them before they're properly ripe :( Anyway, as I looked at the packet in the fridge I wondered to myself 'Should I have the strawberry, the raspberry or the other one?'. Because I'm pretty sure those are the flavours included in every single pack of yoghurts in the world. Often the other one is peach, sometimes forest fruits, sometimes pear, sometimes cherry, sometimes mango, occasionally even rhubarb (and once it was 'strawberry and vanilla') but no one has ever managed to get rid of the strawberry or the raspberry. I wonder why? I always choose the strawberry jam from the cupboard, even though I like like raspberry and blackcurrant. Why? In the same way I always- if I am left to my own devices- eat the strawberry yoghurt, then the raspberry, then the other one. So today, in an act of open defiance, I ate the pear one. This strange analysis of human psychology is drawing to a close, so pip pip and tatty byes to all

DAY 18

A song you wish you heard on the radio...
I don't listen to the radio that much to be honest. I listen to radio 3, because you know, it's awesome. Except opera, urgh. But there should be less channels entirely devoted to the pop chart, and more channels devoted to actual music, listened to by people who have opinions and don't just listen to whatever is shoved into their face.
Your love is a song
This was a song that Emilie (Madame Pomme De Terre) told me to listen to. With, I'm pretty sure, a death threat. But luckily it's a really good song, so I don't mind being bullied into listening to it :) But I think it would be really amazing if this song came on the radio and told everyone that God loves them. And it makes shivers go up my spine.
On the subject of Emilie, I have noticed that 'Emily' (or any spelling really) is a name for people who are really, really nice. I don't think I know any Emily's who aren't just nice people. A few other names have some kind of stereotype attached to them (has anyone else noticed that Bens seem to generally have quite groovy hair?), but Emily doens't seem to have anyone to buck the trend. But then, I suppose the more nice people there are in the world, the better. If everyone in the world was nice... I would stick out like a thumb broken in an unfortunate skiing accident. But OH WELL. I seem to have run out of things to say. Over and out

Sunday, 12 June 2011

DAY 17

A song you often hear on the radio:
Bright Lights Bigger City
I'm not complaining. Cee lo Green is my alternative dad. HE IS JUST SO AWESOME!

Friday, 10 June 2011

Keeps rainin' all the time

3 years ago, I loved rain. Whenever it rained my friends would run and hide and I would dance in it, but unfortunately since then I have learned to care about my appearance, which was possibly a mistake... but at school, I don't really like rain because some stupid freaks manage to look perfect in the drizzle. But on the way home, walking from the bus stop, rain actually cheers me up. I don't really care about anyone who lives near me, so my hair can frizz all it wants. But today, at half four, standing in the bike shed, waiting for a parent who last week didn't arrive until 20 past five, I really really hated the rain. Hence we have a BONUS SONG for today, dedicated to the rain
Stormy Weather

Name change

I changed the name and description of my blog. Because I can. And because I realised my blog is mainly about music, so yeah. Made sense. I will change it again when I come up with something better. And when I am a bit less lethargic and able to write fully formed complex sentences, not just overuse the word 'meh'. Which, as my computer informs me, is not actually a word: it does describe my mood quite well though

DAY 16

The rain came and burst my bubble. You know when you spend the whole day waiting for those 2 minutes of pure happiness you know you will happen and they just let you down? And you realise that the only reason they didn't happen is because you're too awkward to make them? You know when someone would rather stand in the pouring rain for 10 minutes than come into shelter and have to talk to you? No you probably don't. I'm glad for you, I really am. I would hate for other people to get this feeling all the time. Anyway, todays song is 'A song you used to love but now hate' OH HOW APPROPRIATE! The world is full of people I used to love but now hate. But songs? Hmmm. I do admit I quite often do that thing where you listen to a song over and over again, because it really is the best song you've ever heard and then one day you put your earphones in and realise you are sick of it. But I still recognise they  are good songs. But I suppose some of the first Beiber songs I really liked but now they start to grate on me. Quite a lot...
Baby
Meh. I don't hate it. I don't really hate on Justin either. Over and out

Thursday, 9 June 2011

DAY 15

A song that describes you. That is really tricky, because to my knowledge no one has ever written a song about me. How they can resist writing about such an obvious muse is beyond me, but there we are. So I'll go for something that describes my situation a bit :/
The Kill
well maybe that's a bit melodramatic :/ As I often say, there is a Taylor Swift song for every occasion, so we can have a nice on as well to describe how I'm feeling at the minute
Invisible
Actually I'm not particularly upset at the moment, I seem to be living in a little bubble of happiness... but all the time I'm aware that it's one push away from popping and dropping me. And it does seem that I am totally invisible to some people, and I'm one step away from giving up on them and walking away with what's left of my life. But then, that's how I've felt for about the last year. So I'll just carry on in my bubble for now, and hope. Have fun.

Wednesday, 8 June 2011

DAY 14

Ooooh, a song no one would expect you to love. Well this is interesting... I think we're gonna have to go with 'they might be giants'
The Mesopotamians
To be honest, it's more like a guilty pleasure isn't it. Should have thought of this yesterday. Well, I like to keep you guys on your toes. Nothing much more to say really...

Tuesday, 7 June 2011

DAY 13

A song that is your guilty pleasure. Hmmm. I don't get guilty about things. Well, not about my song choices, I get guilty about other stuff obviously. But what music you listen t seems to be a pretty trivial thing to beat yourself up about, don't you think? Meh. So my guilty pleasure is probably the depressing stuff that I shouldn't listen to when I'm actually depressed.
I hate everything about you
In my defense, I have tried listening to happy music when I feel sad, but it just makes it worse, listening to all those ridiculously happy people getting on with their stupidly happy lives. Meh. And it ruins the happy song for me.

But I do have another 'guilty pleasure' song:
She moves in her own way
hehe :)

Monday, 6 June 2011

DAY 12

A song from a band you hate.
I don't really hate many bands. I mean, there are some bands I don't really like, but even Justin Beiber I don't hate. But I suppose the black eyed peas are fairly over rated. Especially the girl, whatsherface, Fergie I think. She can't possibly sing that badly! And there song are occaisionally a wee bit on the repetitive side. Saying that I liked 'where is the love'.
The Time of my Life
Urghhhh.
It really annoys me when people get famous when they don't have any noticeable musical talent. I know some people who are really amazing at singing, but they probably won't end up famous and successful because they don't have the looks, or the figure, or just the luck. Life's unfair. Meh.

Sunday, 5 June 2011

Michael McIntyre

I think the first time I ever saw Michael McIntyre was on Top Gear and good grief he annoyed me. HE THOUGHT HE WAS THAT BLOODY FUNNY! And then I watched his comedy roadshow and I had to fast forward through his introductions to watch the comedians. But only a few months ago I realised that I actually love him, and have been watching his shows happily for about the past year. So at some point in the past I realised that he is that bloody funny. And I am currently watching the comedy roadshow AND reading his autobiography at the same time. Because I'm that cool.

DAY 11

A song from your favourite band. I don't really have one :/ But I'll go with snow patrol again I think, because they really are very good. And I love their songs. And their arrangements. So yeah, they can be my favourite band :)

If there's a rocket tie me to it
This is the first song from their latest album, 'A Hundred Million Suns' and the line 'if there's a rocket tie me to it' doesn't appear anywhere in the song. I don't like the fact that most songs at the moment are basically named after the first or last line of the chorus. For example 'Yeah 3 times'. Catchy. You don't use a quote from your book from the title do you? So Snow Patrol buck the trend and often call their songs something that is meaningful, but tells you more about the song than you can necessarily work out. They have put a bit more effort into it.

Saturday, 4 June 2011

DAY 10

A song that makes you fall asleep. Hmmmmm. I love snow patrol:
fifteen minutes old
It doesn't always make me go to sleep, but I listen to it to chill myself out. It takes me hours and hours for me to go to sleep, so I couldn't really say that one song sends me to sleep, but this is always one of the ones on the sleepy playlist.
Oh this song is cute. Maybe. Unless I have completely misunderstood it, which normally happens. 
Bye bye for now.

Friday, 3 June 2011

DAY 9

I just realised that I wrote the wrong day of my last post. And forgot to put a song in it. Maybe I got a wee bit carried away with my ranting as well. Anyway, the show must go on.
A song you can dance to:
Cooler than me
I dance to this song whenever it comes on the radio. Which has led to some embarrassing situations, let me tell you.

DAY 8

Yeah I know, I said I'd do this properly, one a day then disappeared again. Did you miss me? Well then it sucks to be you. Cos I was in Cambridge with my family, where they don't have power sockets (in tents). And actually what I missed most was my straighteners. So you have a few days of blogging then I go back to school and will probably leave you again, to go and try to kill myself. Or something. Because I really really really really hate school. And I have a properly structured argument why.

Teachers
I have a problem with some teachers, because I find it too hard to respect them. Some teachers I have no trouble respecting, because they demonstrate enough intelligence, sensibility and decency for me to realise that they are good people, and aren't going to teach me rubbish. But some teachers use incredibly bad grammar, bad powerpoints and make too many mistakes. I know you wouldn't think that perfect grammar was necessary in a biology teacher, but you may have notice that I am not a very nice person, and I judge people far too much. If you can't pronounce the word 'accurate' how do I know that I'm pronouncing 'hypothalamus' properly? And occasionally her grammar has been so bad I really don't know what she's saying. For instance, I don't know which way round the hypertonic and hypotonic are. And mistakes annoy me. I know that everybody (myself particularly) says things wrong, but as soon as I realise I've told someone something that is incorrect I have to go back and make sure they know. It's not something I can help. Normally I hate people apologizing to me, clearly I have got over it, and them mentioning the subject just brings it all flooding back and I have to deal with things all over again; obviously I also find it very hard to apologize to other people which can make things difficult. But I simply can't trust teachers if I know they've taught me something wrongly and haven't corrected themselves. I also hate the whole teacher/student relationship; it has been gradually arranged into  system where anything resembling a human relationship is not only discouraged, but disallowed. In normal life, we are basically nicer to people we like, we spend more time with them and help them more. But as a teacher, you are not allowed to have personal opinions on your students, a whole fake system has to be set up, pretty much arbitrarily deciding what should be considered as a 'good thing' and what is a 'bad thing', and what rewards and punishments are. Generally our opinions on other people are based on the actual good and bad things they do, and teachers should be allowed to reward and punish students in a fairly natural way. School is supposed to teach us about professional relationships in life, but it doesn't. Because believe me, if you have too many annoying habits you are not going to be hired, no matter how many times you bring in your stationary.
Stupid rules
Basically leading on from that, schools are based on ridiculously irrelevant rules that have at some point been decided and and are now built into society. One of the things that annoys me at the moment is swearing. Once upon a time, someone decided that cunt, fuck, bastard, bitch, shit, piss etc were all totally inappropriate, and that screwed, bloody, crap, hell, damn etc were kind of inappropriate, but we are allowed to say poo, darn, or oops. WHY? I seriously don't get it. Poo, crap and shit all mean the same thing, but people act like you've shot someone if you say the wrong thing at the wrong time. People are ridiculously scared of a lot of four letter words, and it's one of these rules that I find too hard to respect.
Also chewing gum. Why not? I know people say about the under the desk thing, but the only reason chewing gum gets put under stuff is when someone is about to get caught by a teacher, or it loses its taste and you can't put it in the bin. Because it's against the rules to chew gum. STUPID. Lots of uniform rules annoy me too, but in some ways I can see the logic. Some people don't have as much money, etc etc etc, but when it comes to non-uniform day it makes it a whole lot worse; the posh kids know what's fashionable and wear it, and the rest of us often have no idea, and not that many nice clothes, so we have absolutely no idea what to wear, and panic like hell. And get judged. Maybe we should all just wander around naked. I'm not joking. Leading onto my next point
People
It was once wonderfully put by Chris O'Dowd: 'People. What a bunch of bastards'. And let me tell you, high school especially is full of them. Luckily, most of them don't actually give a shit about you. Believe what you will, but most people, even the ones in your class, even your friends wont notice much. Unless they come out of their own little worlds for a bit to notice that your makeup looks a bit rushed, or that your hair is starting to frizz a bit, or that your trousers really do make your legs look fat. They might not, but everyone spends most of their school life desperately trying not to be judged negatively by their peers. And this includes me, probably more than most people. Because unfortunately I notice quite a lot about people, and remember more than is normal, so I'm fairly paranoid about what people find out about me. And I can't pretend that I don't care, because I care far to much what other people think.
As if this isn't enough, almost everyone you meet at school is a teenager. And teenagers are some of the most temperamental people in the world. Every single person at school is trying to be themselves, assert their own personality while being desperately afraid of not fitting in, not conforming. We all need to be noticed, more than we admit to anyone, but we're incredibly afraid of the aforementioned judging. And unfortunately, school is jam packed with smart, pretty, popular, skinny people who just drift around happily making us feel like dirt. But it can get so much worse. What happens when someone you admire, someone who is practically perfect already gets depressed, or anorexic? Realistically they were already better than us, and now they aren't happy with themselves, that leaves us in a pretty bad position. Teenagers shouldn't be allowed to mingle. Schools are as bitchy as hell.
Boys
As if the constant pressure of schoolwork, socialising and home life wasn't enough, someone just threw an arrow at your heart. Worse than the constant competition with all the girls, someone decided that boys should be able to make you feel absolutely worthless without even trying. Without even knowing. Fuck it.
Seating plans
Another pointless convention. 4 years in, I really do know who I do and don't like. I'm never going to like them, no matter how many times you put us together. I'm trying to do the mature thing and just keep away from them. I don't want to be two faced, but I'm not going to insult them to their face. I just want to avoid them. But no. Shove me next to them then ask us to work together. Good fucking plan. And honestly, I work better next to people I like. There's no way I'm going to talk proper french when I'm sharing a desk with someone considerably cooler than me, who probably doesn't like me and who would certainly rather be sitting somewhere else. No way. But I remember the things I've learned sitting next to my best friend, because we've made jokes about it. Let's be honest, the only time anyone's EVER liked having a seating plan is when it's sat them next to the person they secretly fancy. And if you fancy someone not in your class, you're screwed. Bring on the next whinge.
Homework
The last thing I want to think about when I finally escape from Hell is... Hell. But for some reason, it's appropriate to send reams of work home with me. JOY. As a teacher, you get timetabled enough time to teach your students the stuff they need to know. But now you get told off if you don't give your classes enough homework. I find this particularly difficult to forgive, because I am almost incapable of doing homework. If it's a subject that inspires me and I can see the point of the work, I'll happily do it; I do lots of art work at home for example. But working through a sheet of maths sums that I KNOW I can do because I just spent an hour doing them? Believe me I've tried. I have honestly sat at my desk with nothing but a maths book for an hour and accomplished absolutely nothing. Because I really can't concentrate. My mind wanders 'freely as a cloud'.
Being told off
I know I sound like a wimp, but I hate getting shouted at. Someone pointing out why I'm wrong makes me squirm around inside, so if I actually am in the wrong, if you point it out I'll try my best never to let it happen again, shouting is totally superfluous and will just twist all my emotions up until I can't think clearly anymore, so I'm more likely to make more mistakes. And if I'm not in the wrong? I'll just get angry and lose all respect for you as a teacher and a person. Either way you lose, and I lose. So stop shouting at me.
Stereotypes
Everyone hates school kids, and I know why. Because some kids are bastards who deliberately mess up other peoples lives. But I think if everyone actually saw us as people, with all the pressures of people, they might realise that they aren't making things better. Honestly, I hate sitting with the people on the bus who shout abuse at random people, are really noisy and generally unpleasant, but I think you should realise that I get it worse than you. You get 'fanny' shouted at you down the bus once, but I have to sit with their constant insults every day, and they know what to say to upset me. And on top of that I get your constant filthy looks. And I have to wait in a massive queue while you breeze right past. And I'm the one who gets blamed for everything that gets broken. And I know that you know these things and you still don't care. You were me once, but you've totally forgotten, and now you think I'm worthless shit. I hate to see this, but grow up.

The best idea would be to lock up my heart and my emotions until I'm 18, get through with the thought that once I leave, none of these people will matter to me. But we all know that that's impossible. In my opinion, the whole school system is fatally flawed. The basic idea is that you work and work and work on something until you finally have the courage to actually show it to someone, then they completely destroy it, point out all the flaws and give you a list of all the people who beat you. And that screws people up. A lot. But I don't have any better ideas, so I'll just have to live with it. Over and out