Saturday, 3 September 2011

The grooviness of 7 year old's

When a seven year old boys birthday party includes having a 'Just Dance' disco and watching 'Despicable Me' I start to wish I was 7 again. SO the song of my day is the favourite song of this afternoon, and a pretty funny scene as well
Hot Stuff

Wednesday, 31 August 2011

Aren't you bored yet?

Okay, it's been too long. Basically I hid in bed for a couple of days, then was taken on an emergency camping trip for a weekend with my family, then forgot that I rely on the internet to live for a few days, then went on a camping trip with my best friend's family, then had a bath, watched Harry Potter and painted my nails, then went to bed, then the next day I came and wrote to you. Actually wait, have I written on here since Folkworks? Yes I have. Good. Right then:
So I bought some school uniform and stuff. I hate the uniform, but if you want to know why I think I wrote about it on the... sorry got distracted when looking for that because I just spotted a blog post where I randomly started explaining what chlamydia is. Don't we all have those days... bloody hell it was DAY 8 which is ages ago, but seems like only yesterday. Actually lots of stuff has happened since then. But I feel pretty much the same about school as I did then. Which is that I understand and respect what they're trying to do and stuff, but seriously, there are so many traditions and expectations that have come out of no where. But I will miss school when I leave next year, because I'm terrified of sixth form, and uni, and the rest of my life really. This isn't even what I came on to write about. To be totally honest I just came on to get an audience to my witterings.
Does anyone get really strange dreams? I don't even mean those crazy ones where suddenly you realise that the pigeon ate your dad and the only way to get him back is to pogo stick up the stairs at your school... although I've had that one. I mean more like the ones where someone you hardly know in real life has already divorced you then proposes to you again, or the ones where you snog someone you don't even fancy when you're awake. Actually I think my subconcious has a little crush. Urgh, has anyone ever had a recurring nightmare? They're horrible, because you end up terrified of going to sleep. I had one when I was a little kid about a giant pig that came running up the stairs...
So anyway, the soundtrack of my day? Well my dad has been trying to learn this song, so it's been played around the house quite a lot. Lippy Kids: don't even ask. Don't even ask how we ended up with an Elbow CD, because we don't know that either. I'm feeling quite indie at the moment though so anything calling itself 'alternative rock' ends up on my playlists until I can be bothered to listen to it and form an opinion.
I tidied my room yesterday, and it was no light hearted 'shove some stuff on top of your wardrobe and the rest in the washing basket' affair, I was dragging stuff out from under my bed, sorting it out, rearranging, the lot. I even found a copy of 'Erin the Firebird Fairy' which cheered me up (Again I'm forced to ask you not to ask). Toodle pip



Saturday, 20 August 2011

Rhapsody

My brother and I found ourselves launching into our world famous a capella version of Bohemian Rhapsody, which is something beautiful to hear. I must say, he has the guitar solo begging at his feet like an anthropomorphic and metaphorical dog that is being used to represent his mastery over a piece of music. Apart from that I tidied my room (I know. I sometimes have an obsessively tidy room, but generally only when I'm angry, and nothing in the holidays can raise me from my stupor long enough to actually irritate me) and then went rambling with my family (I had no choice. And if you knew my family you would know the true meaning of the word 'rambling'. Make of that what you will). And my mum decided that at all the venues she goes to weddings at (and she goes to a lot of weddings) she will take a photo of the toilets, and we can make our own ranking chart of function rooms in the north east, entirely based on the comfort of the toilets. I think this is perfectly sensible and reasonable, and if I ever get married I will take due note of the quality of the necessary facilities. My goodness, aren't you bored of reading this yet? You surely must be, because I'm bored of writing it, and I assure you I am capable of wallowing in the glories of my own creations long after the actual glory has disappeared, historical peasant tracks have been built around the wallow-y, and presumably muddy and marshy patch where the glory used to be, then a slightly more sophisticated ancient civilization has tried to build a causeway straight through it and failed, then an era of people ruled by a fat queen with a whole brood of children who is highly unamused by even the most amusing situations have succeeded in draining it- and interestingly gained physical evidence of the curvature of the earth with the long pipes used to drain it- meaning there is nothing, therefore, left to wallow in. If you follow my drift. Pip pip.

Friday, 19 August 2011

I'm being followed by Beethoven's ghost...

Unaccountably, my entire family has developed and obsession with Beethoven's Moonlight Sonata, and as I, my mum, my dad and my brother can all kind of play it, it is most definitely part of the soundtrack of my life at the moment.
The aforementioned brother is currently on a quest to try and be able to convince acquaintances that he can actually play the piano, and it really is working scarily well... He can play the first few bars of this, the piano part from 'Nightswimming' and the beginning of Bohemian Rhapsody and annoyingly he sounds pretty good. As if about 5 billion years of piano lessons don't make me sound better than him and youtube together for 5 minutes... sigh
So anyway... I ordered my brother's birthday present... finally... estimated to arrive on his birthday... never mind. He'll live.
Okay, I have a deep philosophical hypothetical question for you... if Derek Landy (author of the Skulduggery Pleasant series OH YEAH) was going to do an event in your city on the afternoon of your first day back at school, what would you do? Would you leave school at lunchtime, get the bus into town then the train into Newcastle then walk to Byker and go anyway? Because I'm not going to learn anything on the first day back, am I? But if I did that I'd be late, and I only have to go in for 1 lesson in the morning anyway, so why not just skive off the entire day? I REALLY WANT TO GET THE NEW GODDAM BOOK! And everyone in my tutor in my year likes him anyway, I'm sure I could convince at least 6 people to come with me. I suppose I could run out of school at 3.20 when it finishes, get the bus and train and then go to the book signing quarter of an hour late, but I REALLY REALLY WANT TO GO AND TALK TO HIM! I'm sure he would understand! I'm sure my teachers would understand. Talking to a world famous author is surely more helpful than writing down 'The Rules and Expectations of my Year 11 Geography Class'. Especially as I didn't even take Geography. Imagine that, I could be misdirected to a double period of geography, and sit there for the whole afternoon watching my time waste away... And then everyone would be sorry. Oh dear oh dear.

Thursday, 18 August 2011

What to say?

I have no more genius ideas for song theme blobby things, and it's the middle of the holidays so nothing interesting enough is happening in my life to make it worth blogging without music. Today I had the option of going to look at fire surrounds with my mum and my grandad, but tragically I couldn't get dressed quickly enough to go out with them. So basically I'm going to sit around the house playing on the computer and eating, HOWEVER luckily I have reached the point in my holiday where I start re-reading Lord of the Rings so that should keep me occupied for a bit. I will do a sort of 'soundtrack to my day' thingy for a bit, so here is today's
Lord of the Rings symphony (ignore the talking bits. Well watch them if you want, I'm not stopping you, but they aren't part of the soundtrack of my day, as it were). Feel free to browse back through my blog as you listen to all 50 minutes of it. I expect nothing less from you. Or you could buy me stuff from my NEWLY CREATED Amazon wish list (Ruth Bradley's wishlist of extreme awesomness). More of that later.
I'm just starting the second book at the moment. If you've seen the film you'll remember the bit where Aragorn, Legolas and Gimli are searching for Merry and Pippin, and they find the Orcs killed by the Rohirrim beside Fangorn, and then Aragorn kicks the helmet down the hill and screams? Well I'm at that bit. But in the book. Did you know that when they filmed that shot, in the take used in the film Viggo Mortenson actually broke his foot. I may have watched the commentaries too many times. I have watched the extras a lot of times too. In fact, when I was about nine they got confiscated by my parents because me and my brother watched them every day. I surmise that we were very cool kids. The books are mind blowingly good, but they do take quite a long time to read. So I will allow you to call yourself a fan even if you've just watched the films.

So what else have I done today? Well I made myself the aforementioned (my ICT student teacher didn't believe that 'aforementioned' was a real word when I used it in my coursework. She made me change it. What an ignorant fool. This is the quality of teaching staff these days, they can be easily outsmarted by stuck up 15 year olds.) Amazon wish list, which made me feel quite old, (less than 8 months to my birthday guys!) but then I realized the number of kids films it had on it and felt young again.
I also invented a new word- with Emilie's help- which is 'Chiluba'. We discovered it at the same time that we discovered that I can type with my eyes closed and she can't. We don't know what it means yet though, any suggestions will be helpful...

Tuesday, 16 August 2011

Z

Hmmm... I can't think of any songs beginning with z... except 64 Zoo Lane. Now tell me that isn't adorable. Actually, I don't really get stories that have animals as people if I'm honest. Because animals don't actually have languages and stuff, they don't wear clothes and dance around, and tell stories. I suppose some things I can almost accept, like watership down, because the relationships between them and the other creatures are roughly enough approximately almost accurate, and some things (I remember a series called Redwall from when I was younger) are in no way intended to be realistic, but seriously, Peter Rabbit just makes me feel sick. Um. I do quite like Lion King though. Heh heh heh. And in Disney films everyone has a little animal familiar, which I wouldn't mind. I would have a dragon. OBVIOUSLY. WHO WOULDN'T? Anyway, what would you people have?

Monday, 15 August 2011

X/Y

Can't think of an X song.
You're All That I Have
Snow Patrol again :) Hmmmm.
What to say. Half way through the holidays. I'm even more tired than I was at the start, tbqh. I might go off and watch peep show now. Well I already have started watching it if I'm totally honest. Sorry

Sunday, 14 August 2011

W

Warmer Climate
Nearly at the end now...
Okay people, I haven't written anything for a while. I was camping in Scotland avec mes famille which was, to be honest, wet and uncomfortable. Then I came home and the internet and phone lines were all out; apparently someone had climbed down a manhole and stole 300 metres of wire. I ask you. Then I went off to a music summer school for a week. I'm knackered. So. How are you?

Friday, 29 July 2011

V

Velocity Girl
Hmmm, I was playing the iPod shuffle thing a few months ago, and this came up when I asked what two boys thought of me, one who I liked and one who I had been told fancied me. It was a bit :O when I got the same song for both of them, but seriously, this song really does not describe me. Well maybe it does to them, but not the bit about drugs, I don't know. It seems unlikely though. On the other hand, a random old man cycled past me and my friends when we were innocently sitting beside a river, and shouted 'Is that all you do, fucking drink?' to which I was tempted to reply 'Is that all you do, fucking stereotype?'. Because it would be one thing if we were drinking something other than kwenchy kups, but seriously... where would he rather we were? Stupid fool. Bye bye.

Thursday, 28 July 2011

U

Umbrella
When I went to Spain they played this song all the time... except one little cafe where they played the Beatles, which I thought was pretty epic. But yeah, why do they all listen to American music in Europe? I know the Beatles aren't American, but all the other stuff was. If you could sing to someone in Spanish, why would you even bother with the English language? That's what Eurovision was like too.
Anyway, I quite like this song. Obviuosly, otherwise I wouldn't have bothered putting it on my blog would I? Duh. What to say? Anyway, I have things to see, people to do... TTFN

Wednesday, 27 July 2011

T

The Lightning Strike
This song is 16 minutes long... that's pretty cool. And one of the instrumental bits reminds me of one of the pieces I have to study in music...
Oh god, I'm confused about life again. And I really need the loo. I'll see you later. I don't really know what to talk about to be honest. I'm enjoying the holidays though.

Monday, 25 July 2011

S

Now it happens that pretty much every song in the world begins with S... so can I give a selection of songs? If you don't want to listen to them, then tough luck. Well you don't have to, because I won't know, just lie about it. Make me feel better, LIKES AND COMMENT PLZ! <3 xx as some of my chavvier acquaintances would say. Oh my days that annoys me. Anyway, what was I saying?
Safer to Hate Her
It is safer to hate people than love them, but in the end less satisfying. But once you know enough about someone to love them, you generally have enough evidence to hate them... life's weird like that.
I got crap off people for liking you me at six without being a proper fan, only listening to them after they became famous, not knowing their earlier songs blah blah blah and I was like 'what, are you not glad that your band is more popular?' but then loads of the girls in my class started listening to snow patrol and rise against and I got really annoyed, because it made me look like I was just following the crowd :S
Spitting Games
Snow Patrol is always good, song describes some pretty accurate feelings.
Sparks Fly
I see sparks fly whenever you smile :)
Ta ta for now, I'm going out

Sunday, 24 July 2011

Q/R

I can't think of a song beginning with Q... so I'll move right on to a particularly topical 'R'
Rehab
So, I guess you guys heard, Amy Winehouse died. And I really do not know what to think. Everyone is saying what a shame it is, such good music, so talented, not her fault she got into drugs, she was so young, but I have to say... really? Because I am being totally honest, but 'rehab' is the only song I have ever heard of by her, and I had never actually heard it until I looked it up today. And you know it isn't bad, but it's not really my style, doesn't sound too different to any number of pop songs, her voice isn't shockingly amazing... And I know, her abusive boyfriend (I presume, I haven't looked up this Blake guy) got her into drugs, but hell, she's singing a song about how she's refusing to accept help! The only song anyone has ever heard by her is about the fact she realises she is messed up, but she isn't gonna move her lazy arse to try and help herself, and won't even let anyone else help her! Now, if my boyfriend offered me drugs, I would most likely say no, but even if I said yes I wouldn't dare blame it on him, because at the end of the day I could have walked away. Someone offered me a draw on a cigarette, and I said yes, took one then handed it back, and that certainly is no one's fault but my own. But maybe I, aged 15, am more mature and strong than Amy Winehouse, aged however old she was when she started taking drugs? Taking drugs is stupid, but it's everyone's choice, I know people who have and they're still able to function normally, and they would never blame it on anyone else. They still have self respect. And she was so young? Not really. She's nearly twice my age, and I know people who have at least threatened to kill themselves. And what about those 86 kids in Norway who were shot through no fault of their own? What about the12 year old suicide bombers who were groomed by the Taliban? They were so young, but to me it's hard to look at someone twice my age and think 'they were so young'. But I have just seen a 157 comment argument on facebook, between a variety of my friends where one boy ended up saying he hoped someone died so he could throw a street party, or something along those lines, which is ridiculous. And this argument was about how much we respect Amy Winehouse's death. So I would like to put out my actual point of view:
1. ANYONE'S death is a sad occasion, and I don't believe anyone on this planet 'deserves' to die. Celebrating a death is wrong on too many levels
2. Amy Winehouse had a bad life, and was quite possibly misunderstood and badly treated by those close to her, and I'm sure in a different situation could have turned out to be a different person.
3. In the end, she made a choice to die. Those close to her should of course mourn, but for me, I would much rather cry about the death's of children starving in third world droughts. And this blog post is probably more than the amount of thought I will put into her ever again.
4. Everyone deserves an R.I.P.

Saturday, 23 July 2011

P

Piano Man
My dad copied this song onto my computer from vinyl (I know, I still have records in my house) and I think it is pretty awesome, and unfortunately I am pretty sure that it in some way includes a prophecy for the rest of my life: either I end up playing in a piano bar, or get pissed on my own. It has some amazing literary techniques in though. Oh, the 90s had some pretty splendid music though. And less terrorism. Did you see Norway on the news? It was awful, and very unexpected. Who could even imagine a terrorist attack on NORWAY?!?! (I'll be honest I didn't hear enough of it to know if it was supposed to be terrorist, but that is certainly what it looked like. It looked a lot like the devastation after the tsunami in japan, but I suspect as only a small part of the country was hit, it isn't actually too bad.
Anyway, drifting back to whatever point I intended to make, someone asked me what they would call our time period when they looked back at history, would we be the Elizabethans, the Windsors or what? But I think we will probably be the 20th and 21st century, because history is too global and anti-monarchist at the moment for that. I suppose we might end up being 'Ombamians' though. Which would be pretty damn cool. It seems to me that no one in America even likes Obama anymore, but the British are still pretty obsessed by him. My English teacher has his victory speech on her iPod. But she is rather strange in the first place. Anyway, dragging this monologue gracefully round to the point, when people look back at our lives they're going to remember the Middle East, global warming, 9/11, the internet and Lady Gaga. No one is going to give a crap about art council funds, or Charlie and the Chocolate Factory, or chlamydia, or blu-ray. I'm pretty sure. So if you are reading this several hundred years in the future, art councils are basically giving people money to stick toilets to walls (it's installation art, apparently, shows what crap the basis of our lives are built on),Charlie and the Chocolate factory was a book written by a children's author called 'Roald Dahl' who wrote various other popular and funny kids books, it has been made into two films, one starring Gerard Butler, and various other people, and a remake which I think is called 'Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory' (apparently 'Charlie' is offensive because it is American street slang for a black man. I lose faith in humanity and sanity) which stars Johnny Depp (phwoar) and various other people (Freddie Highmore, Helena Bonham-Carter, Christopher Lee, can't remember who else). Anyway, it teaches chilren to follow their dreams, and not be greedy. It also has lots of little orange people, with green hair. They were the much cooler pre-runners to chavs (Chavs are basically the same, but they have dropped the merry improvised singing, which in unfortunate). Chlamydia is a sexually transmitted infection which is pretty much symptomless in early stages, but it can cause infertility in women. Apparently 1 in 10 people between the ages of 13 and 25 have it, but in my area of the country that goe sup to 1 in 4. That means statistically speaking, 7 people in my class have it. I have spent a few hilarious minutes trying to guess which ones. Blu-ray is a new type of DVD that is slightly better quality and several times more expensive. I really don't think it's going to catch on, which is a shame, as the name is more catchy, even if it is less relevant than 'DVD' (if history goes really badly you may not know, so 'DVD' stands for "digital video disk". Please don't make me explain what video means.). So that was a fairly reminiscent blog post, submitted by telepathy (now I'm just fucking with the people from the future). Toodles.

Thursday, 21 July 2011

O

On the rooftop...
Technically it's called 'Ready to Fall', but not many songs begin with O.
Well, today I had to hand in two lots of coursework... oh sorry, one lot of coursework and one FAKE piece of coursework that actually has no relevance to my life, and will not get me anywhere in life. I will talk more of this anon. The other piece of coursework was a joint piece for chemistry/biology that I had to edit, but unfortunately I had to retype it ALL because the school's stupid website and email system weren't working. Anyway, at 20 past 11 my dad was slightly annoyed (did I say slightly? That was foolish of me) which baffled me somewhat... would he really rather I just hadn't done it? So after completing that, for some reason I couldn't be bothered to finish this ridiculous investigation, for a subject which, if I'm honest, I could leave off my CV with no one the wiser. The reasons I hadn't done this homework earlier are numerous:
1. I had five other pieces of REAL coursework to hand in this week
2. My teacher has not actually taught us anything this year, she has been too busy trying to chat up the boys in our class
3. The lesson before we had to hand in the coursework she told me that all my data was wrong.
4. It is the last week of term, and I really can't be bothered.
But luckily I didn't have to yell at my teacher how ridiculous her pathetic subject is, and I escaped. Phew. But my friends didn't get as lucky as me, so I am going to be alone tomorrow lunchtime.

Monday, 18 July 2011

N

Never Grow Up
No one wants to grow up. As part of our current 'making the children more responsible' campaign I now get chores (oh joy... I never had to do any work before, just hours of music practice and room tidying), and today I had to do some vacuuming. Me and the vacuum have a long standing feud, I can't believe no one has invented a silent vacuum cleaner yet... Anyway, I well and truly showed it who was boss today.
You may have noticed that I say vacuuming instead of hoovering... It's my grandad's fault. I also find it hard to say 'You have two choices' (you have two OPTIONS but only one choice). I'm not that bad though, compared to him, I once heard him say 'Methyl-2-cyanoacrylate' instead of superglue (it wasn't actual branded superglue). But it is my mission to slip that word into conversation. I already memorise the spelling of chemical compounds so I can ruin people's jokes:
Foolish innocent bystander: 'What does DNA stand for?'
Ruth: 'Deoxyribonucleic acid, but I think the punchline you're looking for is national Dyslexic Association.'
You can tell how loved I am by my peers...

Saturday, 16 July 2011

M

Mad World
This song is right in the middle of one of my christmas hits CDs. Obviously one year a lot of people were quite depressed around christmas time...
Does anyone else do that thing where you listen to loads of Christmas just for one day in September? I like to on the first day back at school. It cheers me up. GOING TO SEE HARRY POTTER AGAIN TODAY!
Last night I waited for about half an hour for some randomers to move so I could take a picture with the Snape poster. He is the most amazing character in the story. I don't think I have any more to say. Good day to all. Pip pip.

Friday, 15 July 2011

L

My blogger dashboard thing says I have published 69 posts... however the side bar says only 63. I may have another post on this topic in 6 days...
On the subject of random blog posts, today in French we got given our assessment topic, which is to write a blog post about you career plans, including information about your pocket money, any part time jobs you have (...made up), work experience and future plans, and I was forced to wonder: who has ever written a blog post about what housework they have to do in order to earn how much pocket money from whom, and what they in fact spend aforementioned pocket money on... Then I realised that that is quite a plausible blog post, if -of course- the teenager in question was allowed to have a massive angsty rant about how unfair life/parents/the current socio-economic system are (I admit, they might not give those names to it... who ever says the word 'parents'?). I am sure you are fascinated. No really, I don't mind going on. Another problem that came to me while I was watching the latest Harry Potter film (oh yes) was where do wizards get their hair cut? I mean, while you're at Hogwarts, you can't exactly wander out to a salon, who cuts your hair? And on a slightly similar subject, where do wizards go to prison? I know they have Askaban, but that's all high security and shizz, what if they just need to spend a night in the cells, or whatever it is police do as a halfway punishment. I solved that on myself by suggesting that there are probably no-apparition zones on all muggle prisons, secretly maintained by the ministry of magic. And why did Alan Rickman have to die? No need to say, I was in tears multiple times throughout the film.
URGH my night got partially ruined because I saw someone I knew who always depresses me when I see her... some people just have to have it all.
Love Story
N'awwwww. I know it's a bit of a cop out at the end, but it's still lovely. First T Swift song I ever listened to. Romeo save me, they're trying to tell me how to feel.
Yeah, I think it was a bit easier back in the olden days (before the war) when the whole 'courting' thing was so defined and simple. You had rules and guidelines about how to act, and knew for definite who you actually had a chance with. Now we have just as many presumptions and expectations, but they differ from person to person, so you don't really know how to act around boys, and we have just as strong 'classes' of who you can fancy, it's just they are less well defined (to you) so everybody else can tell you have no chance with someone, but it is harder for you to know. So maybe it was easier for Juliet and Paris, and it was an actual conscious choice to fall for the wrong person, not a mistake she didn't know she had made until too late, like so may people do today. She could have been happy with Paris. He gets the worst deal in the whole story: the girl he proposes to would rather commit suicide than marry him? Smooth, real smooth Juliet. You bitch. If you look past the ending of any tragically beautiful story you just get lines of people who have been fucked up. Whatever uplifting story comes before the tragic but poetic end, nobody really cares about the people crying because they lost somebody they loved. I had an idea for a book, about a girl who gets diagnosed with a terminal illness, and decides to actually live life to the full for the last year. She does all the daredevil things she didn't dare to before, she asks a boy out, she takes motorbike lessons, and then her mom gets a call from her doctor, telling her that some test results come back; she is about to go into a rapid, painful decline and will probably die within a week. Her mum then calls her to get her to come home, so the family can spend the last few days together. She gets the call while on her bike, crashes and dies instantly and painlessly. Her family have been prepared to grieve for her, but don't have to witness her last few wasting days. Strangely uplifting end of part one.
Part two, her motorbike teacher kills himself with the guilt that he didn't teach her to ride properly (she didn't tell anyone except family about her illness), her boyfriend thinks that she deliberately killed herself because of something he did and and refuses to remain part of society in case he hurts anyone else, her mom becomes ridiculously over protective of her younger brother, who in turn rebels and becomes manic-depressive, and eventually slits his wrists and is discovered by the boyfriend, who is unable to help because he has become so unused to human conversation and contact. Everyone dies alone and unhappy because one girl forgets that it isn't only the hero who has feelings. Nobody's fault. But after the beautiful ending life has to go on.
I probably won't write it though, so feel free to steal my idea, you'll probably write it much better than I can. Night night

Thursday, 14 July 2011

K

Kings and Queens
Not many songs begin with K either. What to talk about? Cats? Gods? Fire? USB sticks? The possibilities are endless.
PSE has ruined my innocence. My friend can't eat ice cream anymore, she feels defiled. What to talk about...
Just stay mute, you social freak. WIN FOR PEEP SHOW QUOTES. That basically sums up my current social life. I enjoy David Mitchell's company :)

Wednesday, 13 July 2011

J

Hard letter... You took that badly didn't you? You are SOOOO dirty minded. Anyway, here is a hilarious song, that KIND OF begins with J.
Joseph and his Amazing Technicolour Dreamcoat; BENJAMIN CALYPSO!
It is scientifically impossible to watch that and not laugh. I had an alright day today :) Due to a hilarious mis-communication issue I am going to see Harry Potter TWICE! You may bow. I am so cool :) TTFN

Tuesday, 12 July 2011

Panic over citizens, back to your miserable lives

I'll be honest, in that last post I sounded a little bit like I was on the verge of suicide; I'm not. I also sounded really bitter, as if I had cared for other people my whole life and they had totally disregarded me; I didn't, and they haven't. And I seemed to be making out that my life is made out of blocks of poo piled on top of each other in a vaguely humanoid shape; again untrue. My inner drama queen wanted some attention from me and I got so distracted by wrestling her back down that I accidentally let her hit 'Publish Post'. Foolish I know, I will take better care in future.
I am one of the most selfish people ever, and I refuse to accept the good parts of my life and just go on and on and on and on and on and on and on and on and on and on and on about the slightest bad thing that happens, then wander around pulling sad faces and trying to make everyone feel sorry for me for the next few weeks, then refuse to talk to anybody about it. And if the people I'm close to don't appreciate me, they do a bloody good job of hiding that they don't. And I haven't given everything to someone else who doesn't care about me, that was almost entirely melodrama. And you shouldn't start a sentence with 'and'. Whatever. Does this face look bothered? Oh you can't see it. Take my word for it, it doesn't. Basically I have a blog so the few people who I have told about it can read and understand and I can kid myself that everybody else in the world also cares, while in fact most people are just relieved I'm not making a fool of myself on facebook. Bored yet? I am. Not of you, of my own inane wittering. Ciao for now, Mr Cow. Bloody hell, I really have gone balmy.

I

So many songs start with 'I'. I, I, I, that's all anyone cares about, me included. And the people who care too much about other people are either stalkers, or they just get so sick of altruism and actually giving a fuck about everyone else that they just wear out and die. So yeah, when I care about somebody else, they don't care about me at all, and I have to do loads of stuff to convince everyone that I don't care about them anyway, and end up terrified that I'm going to upset someone else, and then just want to curl up in a corner somewhere, and no one try to talk to me until I've worked out what I actually think, but hey that's not gonna happen, life is life, love isn't love, who knows where the time goes? Time on my hands could be time spent with you. But it isn't, cos I'm too lazy. This is kind of meandering from one slightly depressed point to another, I feel a bit like Emilie. But that's fine cos Emilie is cool. I'll have to love you and leave you I'm afraid. Toodle Pip.
I Guess That's Why They Call It The Blues
Elton John is Beast

Monday, 11 July 2011

H

Hands Open
Merrr I feel sick. Can't write. Sow Patrol makes everything better. As does Peep Show.

Sunday, 10 July 2011

G

Didn't write anything yesterday... I thought I was gonna have a whole afternoon of being a lonely bored hermit in which to ponder the nature of the universe for you, but I got kidnapped by some friends and forced to go out and enjoy myself. The bitches.

Gone Forever
Good song. I'm not that angry at the moment though...

Friday, 8 July 2011

F

Fearless
I haven't had any T Swift on here for a while... This is a really nice song. Haha my mom just said tart. She was talking about cherries. Wow, that still sounds pretty bad. Shut up now Ruth. I wish I could write funnier stuff, I just don't seem to have much to write about...

Thursday, 7 July 2011

E

Every Breath You Take
When Sting says it he doesn't sound like a stalker...
Happy mood didn't last too long, now I'm just really confused and my lip's bleeding because I've been chewing on it all day. But I should be happy. And I will be happy. In fact just saying you're happy and trying to smile makes you feel better :) So go forth and be happy my children :)

Wednesday, 6 July 2011

D

Diamonds on the Soles of her Shoes
Wow Paul Simon is so cool :)
I had a really good day today. I'm happy. I think I will leave you know to skip merrily amock somewhere else. That isn't in front of I computer. I jest of course, I'm just going to go on Facebook. But you don't know that. So shhhhhhhhhh ;)

Tuesday, 5 July 2011

C

Epic win for Radiohead. This song describes my life.
Creep
Today was such an awful day, one of those days where nothing bad happens, but absolutely nothing happens all day that gives you any feeling that life is worth living. A day you could cut out of your life and you wouldn't notice, you would just feel like a weight had come off your shoulders. It's quite sad that the nicest thing that happens all day is a bus driver lets you off without waiting for a stop because he can see you missed yours. Nice bus driver :) So thank you mystery man, you kept me going through today. May the force be with you. Over and out.

Monday, 4 July 2011

B

I haven't really posted many Rise Against songs, even though they are on of my favourite bands EVER! Ah well, here's one for you
Behind Closed Doors
Quite cool :D

Sunday, 3 July 2011

A

Musical alphabet time... The letter A.
Absolute Gravity
Tis a good song. The first Snow Patrol album was pretty epics. Everyone knows 'Chasing Cars' and a couple of other songs from Eyes Open, but not many of the earlier songs. Maybe I should quit obsessing over Snow Patrol? NEVER!
My parents just went to a sixties themed fancy dress party. It was hilarious to see. My brother went out into Durham, then he brought a friend home. I have no social life to speak of, I just sit on facebook. What a successful child I am

Saturday, 2 July 2011

Violet

A song that makes me feel violet...
Enchanted
This is such a true song... I really do know the feeling.
I'm sorry, I haven't graced your screens with examples of my hilarious wit and humour for a while, I have been busy wallowing, much like a hippo, in the mud of my own self obsession. Luckily for you luckily lucky people, I have discovered a new party trick: taking song titles and making them sound ridiculously posh and sophisticated. A few of my personal favourites...
'Increase the pressure on the fruit conserve'
'It appears to be precipitating male specimens of the species homo sapiens'
'I only passed by in order to greet you in a causual manner'
'Her manner of producing kinetic energy is entirely unique'
Etc. It amuses me, and it's one way to spend a physics lesson... 

Friday, 1 July 2011

Indigo

Hurricane
I don't really need to explain why this is indigo, do I?
Guess what day it is? FRIDAY! But something sad has happened... I think I'm getting immune to Friday Magic :S things that would have made me so happy are less good, because I'M STARTING TO EXPECT THEM! How annoying. It would still make me happy on any other day, but I'm disappointed by Fridays. I'm such a fool.

Thursday, 30 June 2011

Blue

Blue is a gorgeous colour :D in the words of the blue cat, 'I'm blue, I'm beautiful, I'M BEST!' and it is a calm, chilled out colour, but maybe a bit sad which I happen to like. This song isn't really chilled out, it's kind of a darker blue than the blue I was describing before...
Boulevard of Broken Dreams

Wednesday, 29 June 2011

Green

Hmmmm, green is a fairly happy, calm colour, but has slight undertones of unease and things hidden under the surface. My goodness you are a freak Ruth. Just tell them the song and we can all be happy
Set Down Your Glass
Today was a funny day, and actually quietly happy. I mean, not on a level with full blown Friday magic, but it was pretty amazing for a Tuesday. All my friends seemed to be on top form, and I (for once) DIDN'T SEEM TO MESS ANYTHING UP!!! :O Which is pretty amazing. I don't think I annoyed anyone, I did brave things like starting conversations with people I don't often talk to, and I did quite a lot of work. Phew, I will now slack off for the rest of term.

Tuesday, 28 June 2011

YELLOW

I like yellow, it is a genuine colour, it's happy and shiny, and spreads its happiness to other people, trying to make people's day better. Or whatever :P
Shine on
I might have already posted this song. Ah well, who gives a shit. Maybe I haven't actually. Who knows? I'm in a weird mood, I hate everything, but feel happy. What a strange child I am.

Monday, 27 June 2011

ORANGE

Today was a truly orange day. It was much too hot, too bright and I just felt ill all the way through, but unfortunately I played the "I really am ill, but not in any defined way, just a 'I need to go to bed right NOW' way, that involves an on/off headahce, a funny throat and an awkward stomache and bad back and I just feel so fucking TIRED" card on thursday, so I struggled on all day. I was worse on thursday, so I don't regret the decision, but...
You may have guessed, but I don't like the colour orange. It is full of faked happiness dancing around too brightly and too garishly :/ Um, I thought of a song to represent that before, but I've forgotten it... Oh yeah, my favourite ever scapegoat, Katy Perry.
California Girls
Sorry. I don't mind her in general, but she's too bloody happy

Sunday, 26 June 2011

Red

A song that makes me think of red. Wow, you lucky guys are going to find out about how close I am to synesthesia.
Paper Wings
It doesn't make me angry, it makes me think of red. I have absolutely no idea what it's about. I like it though :). Obviously you like it, you wouldn't listen to it otherwise, would you, you cretin. Shush now, No one asked you. Sorry, the voices in my head just got a bit out of control...

Saturday, 25 June 2011

Roy G. Biv

You know when I said I had a wunnerful idea for y'all? I think this song will explain the theme, and I will once again give you a song each day, on the given theme. You know the protocol. AWAIT MY ANNOUNCEMENTS WITH ANTICIPATION AND JOY!
Roy G. Biv
Do you know how freaking cool this is?

Friday, 24 June 2011

DAY 30

The last day of amazing journey through time and space :'( *wipes tear from eye* BUT FEAR NOT my young minions, I have an epic plan for the next stage of our musical journey. But first we must listen to 'Your favourite song last year'. Well, my favourite song last year. Because, let's face it, my opinions are more important than yours: I know the login details of this blog, and you don't. I hope. Well this was my favourite song last year: Numb (I have noticed that none of my friends seem to know how to post links on their blogs. But I think I'll just sit smugly on that knowledge like a blackbird that's stolen a power ranger doll). I heard two of my friends playing this song at the school concert, on piano and violin, and I think it describes them very well. Because I've noticed that people who are very nice when you talk to them separately can become someone you just don't understand when they get into groups. It's not that they're two faced, or bitchy or anything, they just end up pressuring each other into doing really ridiculous stuff. Anyway, this song is still a really good song, so I think I might go listen to again. Toodle pip.

FRIDAY MAGIC!!!!!!! :D :D :D

I have been wittering on about Friday magic, or lack of it, for about a month, and I'm sure most of you believe that it is a myth, fairly-tale, legend, or other such construction created/invented by me as an excuse to be inexplicably depressed and anti-social. But, ladies and gentlemen, Friday magic is as real as the unicorn I'm sitting on. It crackles electrically through the air. All those wishes to Freya the Friday fairy have finally paid off (a misspent childhood... best not to ask) and I had an amazing Friday. Let's just say that there is someone in my Fridays who has the potential to make me faint with happiness at even seeing him, but he quite often doesn't realise and I get annoyed. But this week he was really nice to me. Bring on the happy Ruth (and the cider) :D

Thursday, 23 June 2011

Lukorama

Imagine the scene: my 6 year old brother is sitting on my bed watching lion king 2, and suddenly starts quizzing me; he holds up a random bottle of nail varnish and asks if I'm going to a party (no) then a bottle of alboss oil and asks if I have a blocked nose (no), then if I like chickies (yes) and now he has got stuck on 'Can I have this lollipop?' (no, the same as the last five times). I'm saving it. I have a bag of sherbet to eat with it :D And that was probably the most pointless post I have ever written. Hey, I'm ill, cut me a bit of slack. Aussi, my other brother just updated his facebook saying he has marshmallows. I really want that to be true...

DAY 29

 A song from your childhood: My childhood had quite a lot of songs in, to be honest, but I just remembered this one, and it's prettay darn awesome, in my opinion.
Adventurers slash explorers
Nearly finished the song challenge now :( I've lost all purpose in life.
Oh dear I really am ill. My head hurts. My throat hurts. My nose hurts. On the plus side, I am now watching little mermaid 2, which I have just discovered is HILARIOUS! Watch it now.

Wednesday, 22 June 2011

DAY 28

A song that makes you feel guilty. This song makes me feel guilty because it reminds me how amazing my family are, and I do give them quite a lot of crap. I would have kicked me out by now. Ah well, Taylor Swift knows all...
The Best Day
*wipes tear from eye*
Now that's over, I have a rant, and I am going to rant it at you whether you like it or not, because if you go against my rant I will cut you down. You may not know but I will dedicate the rest of my life to you downfall.
How dare people think that they have the right to judge and insult people after just driving past them in the street? What could they possibly think makes it okay for them to say something that can cut someone up inside so much that years later they will say something that makes you realise that whenever they remember, their chest tightens up to try to cover up the scar that's left there? For once this isn't a rant about my own pathetic little life, for once I am standing up for someone else's honour (okay calm down Ruth, you're not a knight you know...). And they don't know that I'm standing up for them; they don't know I know they need standing up for. And they'd probably be slightly embarrassed and bemused if they knew. Hell, they probably don't even need someone to stand up for them (they have perfectly good legs of their own after all. And I'm pretty sure they could write a better speech about this than me). But it doesn't matter. I saw someone say something, found out something about them and it upset me that they had to hurt for no reason except to make some freak feel better for a minute. All I can say is that there is NO WAY you can know who deserves upsetting from one glance in the street. Sure he might be a tosser but did you KNOW that? So shut the fuck up. I'll be honest with you, this particular case has nothing to do with me, I wasn't there at the time of the insults, I wasn't told about it, it wasn't even supposed to hear the thing that told me they'd remembered. I just overheard. Urgh. Rant over. And remember: I'm watching you. Now shoo.

Squash

At the weekend, I was away with family, including 5 kids under the age of 7, and when it came to tea time we had the wonders of pre-made squash.Designed for three year olds. I hate to tell you this people, but it was one of the most awful drinks I have ever tasted. It tasted like vile bile. And a few times I just poured myself some and topped it up with the squash, but then my cousin tried it and got told of by my auntie, and I felt awful for leading this poor, innocent child astray. So I went over to the adult's table and drank wine instead.
Also, I have a problem with orange squash, in that I go stupidly 'have to stand up and run around or I will explode' hyper for half an hour, then crash spectacularly and sit on the edge of tears with a massive headache. Although there are few brands of posher squash that just make me really giggly all afternoon then tired the next day.
And as for the game, I detest exercise in all forms, so it never really had a chance.

Tuesday, 21 June 2011

DAY 27

A song you wish you could play
Rachmaninoff Piano Concerto 2
I can dream can't I? Although lets be honest I don't have the self control to practice that much. You have no idea how much I would love to be so dedicated, but my mind just flits from one thing to another so fast I can hardly ever sit down to practise :S And I'm letting everyone down, I know I know. Oh but aren't you sick of my wittering yet? Of course you are, but due to the fact that you're reading this on the internet YOU CAN'T STOP ME! MWAHAHAHAHAHAHA! I have an obsession with starting new projects; at the moment I really want to learn karate or similar.
1. Because I absolutely OWN at boxing and karate on the wii.
2. Because I need to learn a way to get out of headlocks that doesn't involve clawing at my brother's neck.
3.Because I am an aggressive person
4. Because I would look pretty epic in the white outfit
5. Because there have been a couple of times in the past that I really regret not being able to punch the shit out of someone's face.
I think that just about covers it. Unfortunately I doubt I will get lessons because I doubt my parents (or I) have the time/inclination to drive me to a sports centre every week, and as I have already mentioned I never do any practice for all the things I already do.
I know I sound like a nerd for liking this piece, BUT WHO WOULDN'T WANT TO BE ABLE TO PLAY THIS?!

DAY 26

A song that you can play on an instument...
Mahogany
I learned guitar entirely to play this song. It's one of the two songs I can actually play and sing at the same time :P Well I say play... and I say sing... but anyway. It seems like somebody is singing while the person they love is asleep, and they're saying all the same sweet things they say while they're awake. It's a very honest song. I like honesty; not many people have the guts to tell you how they feel, me included. I often amuse myself by imagining fabulously slushy situations about how to tell someone you like them :P None of them happen. Once you've imagined something there's no chance it will happen in real life. Fact of life. Wow nobody cares. Bysie byes.

Monday, 20 June 2011

DAY 25

A song that makes you laugh
Jerk it out
It's a cool, cool song. This song is on the best wii game in the world, 'Just Dance', and the dancer for this song is so cool it's unbelievable.

Sunday, 19 June 2011

DAY 24

A song you want to play at your family... Um yeah
I want 'How lovely is the dwelling place' and 'The trumpets sound, the angels sing'. But I'm a bit of a freak, in that I've planned hymns for my funeral. I don't like thinking about death :/ It's weirder to think of other people dying though. Not a nice thought. Bye bye.

Saturday, 18 June 2011

DAY 23

A song you want to play at your wedding...
Um, at the minute I don't think I'll ever get married, as everyone of the opposite sex seems to hate me... Not that I'd ever be unawkward enough to actually talk to a boy I liked even if he was prepared to talk to me. I use too many made up words (and sentence structures) such as 'unawesome'. Yes my friends, yet another one of those fridays where the friday magic failed to happen. Although this week I can't blame anyone for it. Actually I might blame sports day, because sports day can't fight back. I'll begin with athletics in general: near the end of the summer term, in PE the sun beams gloriously down from the sky, children skip merrily through the fields, Ruth wonders if she might actually wear shorts rather than 'Trackie Bees lyk hew' for PE this week- although the answer is invariably no, the thought DOES happen- and a general feeling of contentment falls over the school. At 20 past 11, students frisk and gambol down to the sports hall, where they then happily ask their teacher that most joyful of questions: 'Miss, please can we play rounders'. Just to clarify, rounders is one of my favourite sports, as the rules were drilled so thoroughly into my head at primary school that even as an overweight, unpopular and generally annoying year 7 there was one sport I could participate properly in, because I knew all about the rules of misfielding, the 'runassoonastheballleavesthebowlershands,runNOW!' rule and various other things about no-balls, backwards hits and running out. Anyway, flowing back to the plot as smoothly as tributary runs into a river (see, I did listen in Geography!), we had just asked permission to engage in the noble sport of rounders. And now miss is about to break our young innocent hearts. She says 'No, we're doing athletics'. Darkness creeps back into the forests of the world, rumour grows of a shadow in the east, whispers of a nameless fear. Um, but if it did have a name, it would be 'the 1500 metres'. Some of the weak in the class actually collapse at this point, their deaths will be on the heads of the PE department. Those of us left fight on in their memories, but to no avail. Our teacher is no more than a sergeant of the enemies army: she has no option but to carry out her orders. So we march out, steeled to our doom. Now, I have to explain the problem with athletics: there are so many bloody events that we don't actually get taught anything about them, we just run through them, one a lesson, until the end of term. So no one who doesn't practise in their spare time doesn't get better. And this problem comes to a head with the running races. Only about 7 people can race at a time, so the participants are basically performing to the whole of their year group. And what happens is this: those people who are good at running have been part of a running club, and have been practising for this moment the whole year. They excel, sprinting off into the distance and within seconds are around the bend, and on the other side of the track, so their loving fans and spectators can hardly see them, never mind appreciate how fabulous they are at running. What their loving fans are watching are all the plebs who are jogging, panting, hyperventilating and occasionally passing out behind them. Watching someone blubbering along like a beached whale is just more FUN than watching someone show off at something they are good at. And honestly, who can run for 1500m? It isn't normal. I was once beaten by 6 minutes at the 1500m by friend, who has ASTHMA! So unsurprisingly, I don't go to sports day. But as has been pointed out to me before 'the only good thing about standing around in your PE kit doing nothing all day is that all the fittest lads are doing exactly the same thing'. But I've decided it's really not worth it. Or, in fact, anything to do with my wedding...
It occurs to me that I haven't actually told you what I did today while boycotting sports day. I instead had to be part of 'curriculum day'; a day where nothing that will actually help you in life can be taught, because if it was it would be unfair on those doing sports. In the morning I did a puppet show about the effects of drugs, in the afternoon I designed a box to keep sherbert in. Once you realise that most people had gone to sports day, and everyone else had skived, you realise that everyone in school was basically crap at excercise, but not brave enough for truancy. So not many people appreciated me and my best friends own unique brand of humour to do with cannabis, or our amazing skill with accents. It was wasted on them. I think I will skive next curriculum day/house day/sports day.

Friday, 17 June 2011

DAY 22

A song you listen to when you're sad:
Nothing else matters
When you're upset about something, it can take up your whole world, until nothing is more important to you than that one problem you have

Thursday, 16 June 2011

DAY 21

A song that you listen to when you're happy :D I love the kooks.
Shine On
I like loads of Brit-pop type stuff. Like Blur, and Franz Ferdinand, and THE BEATLES! All the happy retro stuff makes me feel so summer. I think it's really interesting how different songs make you think of different seasons, and different colours.
I know I should listen to happy songs when I'm depressed, but it doesn't work, I just get annoyed that other people are happy and I'm not :/ Oh well.
I wish I could write something genuinely amusing, but unfortunately although I am pretty much a comedy GOD in real life, most of it involves me involuntarily falling over/asking for a bus ticket to the wrong place/throwing cookies into people eyes (that was all in the last two days) and that doesn't really transmit well onto the internet. If you want to see someone really funny, read my brothers blog (A small insight into my life) because he seems to have got the lion's share of brains. And here I am, back into slipping Lion King quotes into conversation like a diabetic slips on apple peelings. You really shouldn't let me do that. Someone has to be responsible for my mental health, and it sure as hell isn't gonna be me. Anyone who reads A-level psychology textbooks in their free time before school should on no account be let near anyone crazy. On that fabulous subject I must love you and leave you,  I have other deserving minions to annoy...

Wednesday, 15 June 2011

DAY 20

A song that you listen to when you're angry:
Anything by Three Days Grace, or Rise Against, or 30 Seconds to Mars really... But this has been my ANGRY song for a while.
Blood to Bleed

Tuesday, 14 June 2011

DAY 19

A song from your favourite album. I really don't have a favourite album, because my mood swings around so much I can't just concentrate on one emotion. But at this moment in time I think my favourite album is 'A Hundred Million Suns' by Snow Patrol. And I really like this song, so here you have it...
Disaster Button
I don't really know what it means, except that things can change and not turn out how you expected, and people can be confusing, and different, and change who you are. I like songs which are fairly ambiguous, that you can apply to yourself: I don't really like songs that are so much about the singer that they have nothing to do with you and your situation.

Monday, 13 June 2011

Yoghurt

I just ate a pear yogurt, and it was very nice; I don't often eat real pears because whenever we have them in the house my brother eats them before they're properly ripe :( Anyway, as I looked at the packet in the fridge I wondered to myself 'Should I have the strawberry, the raspberry or the other one?'. Because I'm pretty sure those are the flavours included in every single pack of yoghurts in the world. Often the other one is peach, sometimes forest fruits, sometimes pear, sometimes cherry, sometimes mango, occasionally even rhubarb (and once it was 'strawberry and vanilla') but no one has ever managed to get rid of the strawberry or the raspberry. I wonder why? I always choose the strawberry jam from the cupboard, even though I like like raspberry and blackcurrant. Why? In the same way I always- if I am left to my own devices- eat the strawberry yoghurt, then the raspberry, then the other one. So today, in an act of open defiance, I ate the pear one. This strange analysis of human psychology is drawing to a close, so pip pip and tatty byes to all

DAY 18

A song you wish you heard on the radio...
I don't listen to the radio that much to be honest. I listen to radio 3, because you know, it's awesome. Except opera, urgh. But there should be less channels entirely devoted to the pop chart, and more channels devoted to actual music, listened to by people who have opinions and don't just listen to whatever is shoved into their face.
Your love is a song
This was a song that Emilie (Madame Pomme De Terre) told me to listen to. With, I'm pretty sure, a death threat. But luckily it's a really good song, so I don't mind being bullied into listening to it :) But I think it would be really amazing if this song came on the radio and told everyone that God loves them. And it makes shivers go up my spine.
On the subject of Emilie, I have noticed that 'Emily' (or any spelling really) is a name for people who are really, really nice. I don't think I know any Emily's who aren't just nice people. A few other names have some kind of stereotype attached to them (has anyone else noticed that Bens seem to generally have quite groovy hair?), but Emily doens't seem to have anyone to buck the trend. But then, I suppose the more nice people there are in the world, the better. If everyone in the world was nice... I would stick out like a thumb broken in an unfortunate skiing accident. But OH WELL. I seem to have run out of things to say. Over and out

Sunday, 12 June 2011

DAY 17

A song you often hear on the radio:
Bright Lights Bigger City
I'm not complaining. Cee lo Green is my alternative dad. HE IS JUST SO AWESOME!

Friday, 10 June 2011

Keeps rainin' all the time

3 years ago, I loved rain. Whenever it rained my friends would run and hide and I would dance in it, but unfortunately since then I have learned to care about my appearance, which was possibly a mistake... but at school, I don't really like rain because some stupid freaks manage to look perfect in the drizzle. But on the way home, walking from the bus stop, rain actually cheers me up. I don't really care about anyone who lives near me, so my hair can frizz all it wants. But today, at half four, standing in the bike shed, waiting for a parent who last week didn't arrive until 20 past five, I really really hated the rain. Hence we have a BONUS SONG for today, dedicated to the rain
Stormy Weather

Name change

I changed the name and description of my blog. Because I can. And because I realised my blog is mainly about music, so yeah. Made sense. I will change it again when I come up with something better. And when I am a bit less lethargic and able to write fully formed complex sentences, not just overuse the word 'meh'. Which, as my computer informs me, is not actually a word: it does describe my mood quite well though

DAY 16

The rain came and burst my bubble. You know when you spend the whole day waiting for those 2 minutes of pure happiness you know you will happen and they just let you down? And you realise that the only reason they didn't happen is because you're too awkward to make them? You know when someone would rather stand in the pouring rain for 10 minutes than come into shelter and have to talk to you? No you probably don't. I'm glad for you, I really am. I would hate for other people to get this feeling all the time. Anyway, todays song is 'A song you used to love but now hate' OH HOW APPROPRIATE! The world is full of people I used to love but now hate. But songs? Hmmm. I do admit I quite often do that thing where you listen to a song over and over again, because it really is the best song you've ever heard and then one day you put your earphones in and realise you are sick of it. But I still recognise they  are good songs. But I suppose some of the first Beiber songs I really liked but now they start to grate on me. Quite a lot...
Baby
Meh. I don't hate it. I don't really hate on Justin either. Over and out

Thursday, 9 June 2011

DAY 15

A song that describes you. That is really tricky, because to my knowledge no one has ever written a song about me. How they can resist writing about such an obvious muse is beyond me, but there we are. So I'll go for something that describes my situation a bit :/
The Kill
well maybe that's a bit melodramatic :/ As I often say, there is a Taylor Swift song for every occasion, so we can have a nice on as well to describe how I'm feeling at the minute
Invisible
Actually I'm not particularly upset at the moment, I seem to be living in a little bubble of happiness... but all the time I'm aware that it's one push away from popping and dropping me. And it does seem that I am totally invisible to some people, and I'm one step away from giving up on them and walking away with what's left of my life. But then, that's how I've felt for about the last year. So I'll just carry on in my bubble for now, and hope. Have fun.

Wednesday, 8 June 2011

DAY 14

Ooooh, a song no one would expect you to love. Well this is interesting... I think we're gonna have to go with 'they might be giants'
The Mesopotamians
To be honest, it's more like a guilty pleasure isn't it. Should have thought of this yesterday. Well, I like to keep you guys on your toes. Nothing much more to say really...

Tuesday, 7 June 2011

DAY 13

A song that is your guilty pleasure. Hmmm. I don't get guilty about things. Well, not about my song choices, I get guilty about other stuff obviously. But what music you listen t seems to be a pretty trivial thing to beat yourself up about, don't you think? Meh. So my guilty pleasure is probably the depressing stuff that I shouldn't listen to when I'm actually depressed.
I hate everything about you
In my defense, I have tried listening to happy music when I feel sad, but it just makes it worse, listening to all those ridiculously happy people getting on with their stupidly happy lives. Meh. And it ruins the happy song for me.

But I do have another 'guilty pleasure' song:
She moves in her own way
hehe :)

Monday, 6 June 2011

DAY 12

A song from a band you hate.
I don't really hate many bands. I mean, there are some bands I don't really like, but even Justin Beiber I don't hate. But I suppose the black eyed peas are fairly over rated. Especially the girl, whatsherface, Fergie I think. She can't possibly sing that badly! And there song are occaisionally a wee bit on the repetitive side. Saying that I liked 'where is the love'.
The Time of my Life
Urghhhh.
It really annoys me when people get famous when they don't have any noticeable musical talent. I know some people who are really amazing at singing, but they probably won't end up famous and successful because they don't have the looks, or the figure, or just the luck. Life's unfair. Meh.

Sunday, 5 June 2011

Michael McIntyre

I think the first time I ever saw Michael McIntyre was on Top Gear and good grief he annoyed me. HE THOUGHT HE WAS THAT BLOODY FUNNY! And then I watched his comedy roadshow and I had to fast forward through his introductions to watch the comedians. But only a few months ago I realised that I actually love him, and have been watching his shows happily for about the past year. So at some point in the past I realised that he is that bloody funny. And I am currently watching the comedy roadshow AND reading his autobiography at the same time. Because I'm that cool.

DAY 11

A song from your favourite band. I don't really have one :/ But I'll go with snow patrol again I think, because they really are very good. And I love their songs. And their arrangements. So yeah, they can be my favourite band :)

If there's a rocket tie me to it
This is the first song from their latest album, 'A Hundred Million Suns' and the line 'if there's a rocket tie me to it' doesn't appear anywhere in the song. I don't like the fact that most songs at the moment are basically named after the first or last line of the chorus. For example 'Yeah 3 times'. Catchy. You don't use a quote from your book from the title do you? So Snow Patrol buck the trend and often call their songs something that is meaningful, but tells you more about the song than you can necessarily work out. They have put a bit more effort into it.

Saturday, 4 June 2011

DAY 10

A song that makes you fall asleep. Hmmmmm. I love snow patrol:
fifteen minutes old
It doesn't always make me go to sleep, but I listen to it to chill myself out. It takes me hours and hours for me to go to sleep, so I couldn't really say that one song sends me to sleep, but this is always one of the ones on the sleepy playlist.
Oh this song is cute. Maybe. Unless I have completely misunderstood it, which normally happens. 
Bye bye for now.

Friday, 3 June 2011

DAY 9

I just realised that I wrote the wrong day of my last post. And forgot to put a song in it. Maybe I got a wee bit carried away with my ranting as well. Anyway, the show must go on.
A song you can dance to:
Cooler than me
I dance to this song whenever it comes on the radio. Which has led to some embarrassing situations, let me tell you.

DAY 8

Yeah I know, I said I'd do this properly, one a day then disappeared again. Did you miss me? Well then it sucks to be you. Cos I was in Cambridge with my family, where they don't have power sockets (in tents). And actually what I missed most was my straighteners. So you have a few days of blogging then I go back to school and will probably leave you again, to go and try to kill myself. Or something. Because I really really really really hate school. And I have a properly structured argument why.

Teachers
I have a problem with some teachers, because I find it too hard to respect them. Some teachers I have no trouble respecting, because they demonstrate enough intelligence, sensibility and decency for me to realise that they are good people, and aren't going to teach me rubbish. But some teachers use incredibly bad grammar, bad powerpoints and make too many mistakes. I know you wouldn't think that perfect grammar was necessary in a biology teacher, but you may have notice that I am not a very nice person, and I judge people far too much. If you can't pronounce the word 'accurate' how do I know that I'm pronouncing 'hypothalamus' properly? And occasionally her grammar has been so bad I really don't know what she's saying. For instance, I don't know which way round the hypertonic and hypotonic are. And mistakes annoy me. I know that everybody (myself particularly) says things wrong, but as soon as I realise I've told someone something that is incorrect I have to go back and make sure they know. It's not something I can help. Normally I hate people apologizing to me, clearly I have got over it, and them mentioning the subject just brings it all flooding back and I have to deal with things all over again; obviously I also find it very hard to apologize to other people which can make things difficult. But I simply can't trust teachers if I know they've taught me something wrongly and haven't corrected themselves. I also hate the whole teacher/student relationship; it has been gradually arranged into  system where anything resembling a human relationship is not only discouraged, but disallowed. In normal life, we are basically nicer to people we like, we spend more time with them and help them more. But as a teacher, you are not allowed to have personal opinions on your students, a whole fake system has to be set up, pretty much arbitrarily deciding what should be considered as a 'good thing' and what is a 'bad thing', and what rewards and punishments are. Generally our opinions on other people are based on the actual good and bad things they do, and teachers should be allowed to reward and punish students in a fairly natural way. School is supposed to teach us about professional relationships in life, but it doesn't. Because believe me, if you have too many annoying habits you are not going to be hired, no matter how many times you bring in your stationary.
Stupid rules
Basically leading on from that, schools are based on ridiculously irrelevant rules that have at some point been decided and and are now built into society. One of the things that annoys me at the moment is swearing. Once upon a time, someone decided that cunt, fuck, bastard, bitch, shit, piss etc were all totally inappropriate, and that screwed, bloody, crap, hell, damn etc were kind of inappropriate, but we are allowed to say poo, darn, or oops. WHY? I seriously don't get it. Poo, crap and shit all mean the same thing, but people act like you've shot someone if you say the wrong thing at the wrong time. People are ridiculously scared of a lot of four letter words, and it's one of these rules that I find too hard to respect.
Also chewing gum. Why not? I know people say about the under the desk thing, but the only reason chewing gum gets put under stuff is when someone is about to get caught by a teacher, or it loses its taste and you can't put it in the bin. Because it's against the rules to chew gum. STUPID. Lots of uniform rules annoy me too, but in some ways I can see the logic. Some people don't have as much money, etc etc etc, but when it comes to non-uniform day it makes it a whole lot worse; the posh kids know what's fashionable and wear it, and the rest of us often have no idea, and not that many nice clothes, so we have absolutely no idea what to wear, and panic like hell. And get judged. Maybe we should all just wander around naked. I'm not joking. Leading onto my next point
People
It was once wonderfully put by Chris O'Dowd: 'People. What a bunch of bastards'. And let me tell you, high school especially is full of them. Luckily, most of them don't actually give a shit about you. Believe what you will, but most people, even the ones in your class, even your friends wont notice much. Unless they come out of their own little worlds for a bit to notice that your makeup looks a bit rushed, or that your hair is starting to frizz a bit, or that your trousers really do make your legs look fat. They might not, but everyone spends most of their school life desperately trying not to be judged negatively by their peers. And this includes me, probably more than most people. Because unfortunately I notice quite a lot about people, and remember more than is normal, so I'm fairly paranoid about what people find out about me. And I can't pretend that I don't care, because I care far to much what other people think.
As if this isn't enough, almost everyone you meet at school is a teenager. And teenagers are some of the most temperamental people in the world. Every single person at school is trying to be themselves, assert their own personality while being desperately afraid of not fitting in, not conforming. We all need to be noticed, more than we admit to anyone, but we're incredibly afraid of the aforementioned judging. And unfortunately, school is jam packed with smart, pretty, popular, skinny people who just drift around happily making us feel like dirt. But it can get so much worse. What happens when someone you admire, someone who is practically perfect already gets depressed, or anorexic? Realistically they were already better than us, and now they aren't happy with themselves, that leaves us in a pretty bad position. Teenagers shouldn't be allowed to mingle. Schools are as bitchy as hell.
Boys
As if the constant pressure of schoolwork, socialising and home life wasn't enough, someone just threw an arrow at your heart. Worse than the constant competition with all the girls, someone decided that boys should be able to make you feel absolutely worthless without even trying. Without even knowing. Fuck it.
Seating plans
Another pointless convention. 4 years in, I really do know who I do and don't like. I'm never going to like them, no matter how many times you put us together. I'm trying to do the mature thing and just keep away from them. I don't want to be two faced, but I'm not going to insult them to their face. I just want to avoid them. But no. Shove me next to them then ask us to work together. Good fucking plan. And honestly, I work better next to people I like. There's no way I'm going to talk proper french when I'm sharing a desk with someone considerably cooler than me, who probably doesn't like me and who would certainly rather be sitting somewhere else. No way. But I remember the things I've learned sitting next to my best friend, because we've made jokes about it. Let's be honest, the only time anyone's EVER liked having a seating plan is when it's sat them next to the person they secretly fancy. And if you fancy someone not in your class, you're screwed. Bring on the next whinge.
Homework
The last thing I want to think about when I finally escape from Hell is... Hell. But for some reason, it's appropriate to send reams of work home with me. JOY. As a teacher, you get timetabled enough time to teach your students the stuff they need to know. But now you get told off if you don't give your classes enough homework. I find this particularly difficult to forgive, because I am almost incapable of doing homework. If it's a subject that inspires me and I can see the point of the work, I'll happily do it; I do lots of art work at home for example. But working through a sheet of maths sums that I KNOW I can do because I just spent an hour doing them? Believe me I've tried. I have honestly sat at my desk with nothing but a maths book for an hour and accomplished absolutely nothing. Because I really can't concentrate. My mind wanders 'freely as a cloud'.
Being told off
I know I sound like a wimp, but I hate getting shouted at. Someone pointing out why I'm wrong makes me squirm around inside, so if I actually am in the wrong, if you point it out I'll try my best never to let it happen again, shouting is totally superfluous and will just twist all my emotions up until I can't think clearly anymore, so I'm more likely to make more mistakes. And if I'm not in the wrong? I'll just get angry and lose all respect for you as a teacher and a person. Either way you lose, and I lose. So stop shouting at me.
Stereotypes
Everyone hates school kids, and I know why. Because some kids are bastards who deliberately mess up other peoples lives. But I think if everyone actually saw us as people, with all the pressures of people, they might realise that they aren't making things better. Honestly, I hate sitting with the people on the bus who shout abuse at random people, are really noisy and generally unpleasant, but I think you should realise that I get it worse than you. You get 'fanny' shouted at you down the bus once, but I have to sit with their constant insults every day, and they know what to say to upset me. And on top of that I get your constant filthy looks. And I have to wait in a massive queue while you breeze right past. And I'm the one who gets blamed for everything that gets broken. And I know that you know these things and you still don't care. You were me once, but you've totally forgotten, and now you think I'm worthless shit. I hate to see this, but grow up.

The best idea would be to lock up my heart and my emotions until I'm 18, get through with the thought that once I leave, none of these people will matter to me. But we all know that that's impossible. In my opinion, the whole school system is fatally flawed. The basic idea is that you work and work and work on something until you finally have the courage to actually show it to someone, then they completely destroy it, point out all the flaws and give you a list of all the people who beat you. And that screws people up. A lot. But I don't have any better ideas, so I'll just have to live with it. Over and out

Sunday, 29 May 2011

DAY 8

I'm back. For a variety of reasons I haven't written for a while. Such is life. Along with the music making.
A song you know all the words to...
Cry me a river
I like this song very much. And I sing it a lot. And the whole crying rivers thing seems appropriate sometimes. And I'll shut up now.
Actually I won't, I'll talk about jazz a bit. Jazz music is really really cool. If you think about it, blues is the same stuff as heavy metal. A really depressed singer, a heavy bass line, piano, guitar... And both a bit anti-mainstream.
As I was watching Eurovision this year I realised how much most pop music bores me. The occasional good song comes up, but most of it is just cheesy, self obsessed, regurgitated crap. I listened to the 'most popular' playlist on grooveshark and it depressed me so much. People don't seem to from there own opinions on music, they just listen to what's expected of them. So I try my hardest not to. That's why I listen to Taylor Swift and Rise Against and Billie Holiday and Metallica. It doesn't even matter if people don't know. Listen to someone else's music and you'll find understand some of what they're feeling.
Over and out.

Wednesday, 4 May 2011

DAY 7

A song that reminds you of a certain event. This song reminds me of my 15th birthday. I listened to it and thought of all the crap I'm gonna have this year. Which was a stupid thing to do on my birthday i guess.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Pb-K2tXWK4w

DAY 6

A song that reminds you of somewhere...
Um. This song reminds me Andy's bedroom. And aliens.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XHFy3YWpRx8
Ahaha I love it :3

Tuesday, 3 May 2011

DAY 5

A song that reminds you of someone. This reminds me of dancing with two of the coolest people I know. And many science lessons since then.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LhUcSbbURyc
My own awesomeness makes me laugh

DAY 4

A song that makes you sad.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=s4Rax2PXiWA
You know those songs you wish someone would sing to you and mean it? This song makes me cry.

I'M BACK!

After the thrilling fun of the lake district I return to grace, once again, your computer screens. Not that I don't love you children, but I wish I was back in the sun, to be honest. School just brings home how much I hate various aspects of myself/my life/humans/the universe. I will do a catchy up thingy of the songs.

Tuesday, 26 April 2011

My deepest apologies

I have an admission. I am not really a nerd. I suspect that if I applied the the International Summit of Nerds they would laugh at my foolishness and make me into an in-joke absolutely incomprehensible to the rest of humankind. I can't programme a computer; I only know three digits of pi; I gave up my glasses for contact lenses; I don't even watch Doctor Who: I am dead to nerd-land. There are probably people who would describe me as a swot, but the main problem with this theory is that I don't actually work hard, or at all. I have a pack of English revision tasks, with a couple of tasks to do each day of the holidays, and 9 days in I haven't done one yet. Every single detention I have ever received has been due to not doing homework. I know it's hard to believe guys, but really, I'm not a swot.  
I could be a teacher's pet, but I don't actually like teachers. I think my best chance is a geek. Or just a sociopath. I'm sorry for misleading you my child.

DAY 3

A song that  makes me happy. Oooh, good :D
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WDswiT87oo8
I love blur. They make me very happy.

Now it is interesting how I discovered them. First blur experience = CD of the week with Mr Lamb. Probably the best CD of the week he ever managed to provide. Second blur experience = Just Dance. So actually not even that interesting.
I tried to write this while eating my breakfast but my beloved patriarch started wittering on about milk and computers and clumsiness. Or something. Wittering runs in the family.

Monday, 25 April 2011

I like the word meander

 WHO IS THIS GRAND MASTER???
I hear you in the streets, banging on my door, screaming the obvious question:
Who is this girl, who in four short blog posts has changed forever the course of our lives? WHO IS SHE?? (actually I don't, because I know you feel obliged to hush in presence- this is not necessary, you must remember I am NOT a deity)
Back the the meandering point, I'm not going to tell you. Because you are probably a 40 year old man. I'm a girl old enough to type but young enough to think it's cool to blog. And I'm not particularly funny, but have illusions of grandeur. Someday, I will teach you to build these soaring dreams, and you will be grateful. So, I'm away laughing on a fast camel...

DAY 2

Okay, I don't have an attention span, so I'm going to do day 2 while I am still interested. When you are as accomplished as me, you won't care about timetabling either, my very young apprentice
Your least favourite song:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=98WtmW-lfeE
This song irritates the life out of me. I don't know why. I quite like Katy Perry. But I hear this song and want to tear my ears out. And I've complained so much about it my aforementioned friends probably want to tear their ears out too.  If she had just written 'Fireworks' a month earlier there would be so much less pain and suffering. World peace. Bluebirds singing. Fairies and pixies dancing around in perfect harmony. Etc.

I have friends

I have friends and I love them. In case they look at this and get angry cos I have only wittered on about music; it's in the title man, WITTERS, not makes heart-wrenching speeches. Someday, my apprenctice, you will learn about the terrors a social life will hold. But it is not this day. Someday, you too will have these 'friends'. But it is (probably) not this day. TTFN

DAY 1

Your favorite song. Tricky. Very tricky. As I get unbelievable mood swings I have two: my happy song and my unhappy song.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GemKqzILV4w
my happy song
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lL2ZwXj1tXM
My unhappy song.
See what I mean about mood swings? Watch, listen and learn the ways of good music.

La musique

Have you heard of the 30 day song challenge?
If you have facebook and a friend under the age of 18 probably yes. If not, probably no. No matter, I will teach you these ways, my young apprentice.  Let me take you on a journey through time and space....